Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Can I buy a 2nd sky router & run it

    This is a discussion on Can I buy a 2nd sky router & run it within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Excellent, thanks for all the help. Plugs look the best option. I take it I can use one of the ...

    1. #11
      trademark's Avatar
      trademark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Boreham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I buy a 2nd sky router & run it

      Excellent, thanks for all the help. Plugs look the best option. I take it I can use one of the spare ports on the sky router to plug into the plug, as my router is currently plugged into the back of the pc via the yellow Ethernet port.

      Thx


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Can I buy a 2nd sky router & run it

      Quote Originally Posted by trademark View Post
      Excellent, thanks for all the help. Plugs look the best option. I take it I can use one of the spare ports on the sky router to plug into the plug, as my router is currently plugged into the back of the pc via the yellow Ethernet port.

      Thx
      Any port on your Sky router will be suitable. If you plug in the PowerLine adapter near to your router, the supplied network cable will be long enough.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      trademark (12-01-11)

    5. #13
      trademark's Avatar
      trademark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Boreham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I buy a 2nd sky router & run it

      So, I decided to move the router into the front room, hook up the sky+anytime, blu ray and x box into the router, then a plug plugged into the last port with the second plug in the office hard wired into the pc, thus avoiding the need for a switch.

    6. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I buy a 2nd sky router & run it

      Quote Originally Posted by trademark View Post
      So, I decided to move the router into the front room, hook up the sky+anytime, blu ray and x box into the router, then a plug plugged into the last port with the second plug in the office hard wired into the pc, thus avoiding the need for a switch.
      You may find that your sync speed is reduced if you are not using the master phone socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #15
      trademark's Avatar
      trademark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Boreham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I buy a 2nd sky router & run it

      Hi. I don't actually think we have a master phone socket, just one in each room.

    8. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Can I buy a 2nd sky router & run it

      It might be beneficial to see which socket the outside line feeds to first. Technically this should be the primary socket, with the correct protection capacitor installed. I know that some DIYers have purchased their own and installed it incorrectly (you only need one per telephone line).

      This article from Wikipedia may help with identifying what you have.

      This artcle from thinkbroadband may also help.

      Both contain photos that could help you to identify what is what.

      The reason for choosing the master socket is a simple wiring issue. It should be nearest to the telephone exchange and provide you with the better connection. This is particularly the case if cheaper telephone extension cable is used in your home.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      trademark (30-01-11)

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION