Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Loss of sync.

    This is a discussion on Loss of sync. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Since the cold snap took hold ive been having a few issues with my connection. Basically at random times of ...

    1. #1
      Bluebaws's Avatar
      Bluebaws is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Loss of sync.

      Since the cold snap took hold ive been having a few issues with my connection.

      Basically at random times of the day the router drops connection and flashes an orange light on the router. It lasts for 10/20 seconds the carries on as normal.

      Connection Speed 8123 kbps 862 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38 db 20 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 12 db

      Those are the stats when working normally. They dont change once its reconnected either and are pretty similar through the test socket.

      Everything is set up as should be and it has been working great for as long as i can remember.

      Could the cold weather be an issue as the problem seemed to improve as the temperature rose for a few days last week.

      Dunno if this helps but here were the router logs from when it happened first thing this morning.

      Mon, 2010-12-20 07:00:04 - Loss of synchronization :
      Mon, 2010-12-20 07:29:35 - Loss of synchronization :
      Mon, 2010-12-20 07:40:05 - Loss of synchronization :
      Mon, 2010-12-20 07:49:35 - Loss of synchronization :
      Mon, 2010-12-20 08:21:36 - Loss of synchronization :
      Mon, 2010-12-20 08:32:06 - Loss of synchronization :
      Mon, 2010-12-20 10:24:08 - Loss of synchronization :
      Mon, 2010-12-20 11:32:10 - Loss of synchronization :


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Loss of sync.

      The cold weather can effect your connection as it causes joints to contract and possibly loose full connection. As your stats stand they show you are quite heavily capped. You should be syncing at 10-11Mb. It is possible, with your disconnections, DLM has kicked in and capped you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Loss of sync.

      Do you have the phase 1 netgear as per your details? If so, can you get your detailed stats via the following link. Before you do, ensure you do the following first:

      Plug the router into the test socket with, preferably, a different filter. Use only the short grey dsl cable that Sky supplied and nothing else plugged into the filter. Just the router. Also, check if you have any noise on the landline.

      Obviously as the sync is intermittent, you can't judge when it's going to next drop out, but once you've plugged into the test socket with another filter then if you can wait until there is a good few minutes uptime at least before taking the detailed stats.

      Mel's Notes: Sky Netgear DG834GT-1skuk

    5. #4
      Bluebaws's Avatar
      Bluebaws is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of sync.

      Sorry i dont even know why i put the 834 router in my profile. Its the 934 that i have.

      Also its a cap that i had requested as when it was synced at 10.5mb the downstream noise margin would drop off in the evening causing resets. I opted for the speed i have now to give me a stable connection.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Loss of sync.

      Sorry i dont even know why i put the 834 router in my profile. Its the 934 that i have.

      You probably didn't, it is the default and unless you change it it will show in your Profile.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Loss of sync.

      Quote Originally Posted by Bluebaws View Post
      Sorry i dont even know why i put the 834 router in my profile. Its the 934 that i have.

      Also its a cap that i had requested as when it was synced at 10.5mb the downstream noise margin would drop off in the evening causing resets. I opted for the speed i have now to give me a stable connection.
      Ok, well if you monitor any loss of sync and have confirmed the following:

      - tried the test socket
      - swapped filter
      - no extensions
      - no noise on the landline

      Then you need to contact Sky and see what their next action is i.e replacement router or broadband engineer.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION