Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Firmware update - when does it happen?

    This is a discussion on Firmware update - when does it happen? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Just moved over to Sky BB with Sagem 2504. Bit disappointed with speeds atm but not really bothered either, bit ...

    1. #1
      surfury's Avatar
      surfury is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ruislip
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Firmware update - when does it happen?

      Just moved over to Sky BB with Sagem 2504. Bit disappointed with speeds atm but not really bothered either, bit higher than with UKOL. Currerrently have 1.9Sky showing as Firmware, will this be updated automatically once the "training" is over (only activated 5 days ago) or will it just happen ?

      Previously have had to update my Netgears manually and didn't know whether this was an option with the Sagem or Sky. Curious that's all. Could I use my old Netgear DG834G v3 ?

      28/11/10 2200
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9215 kbps 916 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.5 db 13.1 db
      Noise Margin 14.3 db 8.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      305
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: Firmware update - when does it happen?

      Unlikely. DLM isn't connected to firmware updates. I'm still on 1.9 and it works perfectly ok - not sure if anyone has worked out yet exactly how the new version is different.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Firmware update - when does it happen?

      According to you noise margin stats you have a bit more speed to come yet, any firmware updates will automatically hit your router as an when Sky feed them out to customers.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Firmware update - when does it happen?

      Apart from the improved security, there have been no positive reports about the new Sagem firmware, the opposite is probably true.

      See Mossy's post here for info on using your own router.
      Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      hyped0's Avatar
      hyped0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rosendale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      United Kingdom
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Firmware update - when does it happen?

      I personally don't see anything very different with the new firmware, however I have noticed that I connect using MER instead of PPPOA.

      I'm currently using firmware: 2.8

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION