Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Resetting the router

    This is a discussion on Resetting the router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Having talked with Sky customer support on numerous occations regarding loss of connection and slow speeds, they got my connection ...

    1. #1
      memphis's Avatar
      memphis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      blackburn
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Resetting the router

      Having talked with Sky customer support on numerous occations regarding loss of connection and slow speeds, they got my connection and speeds to what they should be by hitting thr reset button on the router. They told me that this was the only way to get my connection back right and that if it ever happens again, this is what i should do. Surely this must not be the only answer to this problem. I have read almost every post on this site to find an answer to this but with no success. Anyone else having similar problems with a wired router?

      WAN PPPoA 10220 17354 0 2972 28877 00:13:52
      LAN 10M/100M 17677 10501 0 28454 3195 00:14:20
      WLAN 11M/54M 49 0 0 19 0 00:14:09

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 db 14.7 db
      Noise Margin 11.3 db 12.2 db

      Your Connection

      Speed Test Results after reset
      Downstream 11,048.4 Kbps ( = 10.8 Mbps )
      Upstream 643.2 Kbps ( = 0.6 Mbps )
      Last edited by memphis; 02-10-06 at 05:59 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi,
      there is a post somewhere stating that after 9pm if router is rebooted it should be okay 24/7 but have not tried it myself, I myself have found after a few days my connection on speed tests goes from 11064 to 7034 so have to do the same .

    4. #3
      memphis's Avatar
      memphis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      blackburn
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Frustrating the hell outta me. Have to do a lot of tinkering with the router ie port forwarding etc. Everytime I reset I have to set the lot up again. I'll give it a few days to see if it stabilises and try the after 9.00pm reset to see if that works. If it doesn't then regretably will have to cancel before its too late

    5. #4
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I hope it won't come to that for you so fingers crossed.

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @memphis

      Why don't you just Backup Settings your setting and then reload them again ?
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by memphis View Post
      Having talked with Sky customer support on numerous occations regarding loss of connection and slow speeds, they got my connection and speeds to what they should be by hitting thr reset button on the router. They told me that this was the only way to get my connection back right and that if it ever happens again, this is what i should do.
      That's terrible advice. Using the reset button will (as you have found out) put the router's default settings back in. The reason it is having a beneficial result is because the reset button also reboots the router.

      You should reboot not reset.

      Reboot through the router interface by preference or by disconnecting and reconnecting the power to the router.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION