Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky router password help

    This is a discussion on Sky router password help within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have changed the password on my router for wireless connection but there is no password for connection via ethernet ...

    1. #1
      johnny h's Avatar
      johnny h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky router password help

      I have changed the password on my router for wireless connection but there is no password for connection via ethernet cable.

      Is there anyway of setting one up for that and how will it affect my games consoles ethernet connection.

      Im not very tech savvy so cheers in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky router password help

      There is no way to set a password for ethernet. To use this you need physical access to the router to plug the cable in. This is considered more than enough security.

      You can set a secure Admin password in place of 'sky' which will stop others with ethernet access making changes to the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      johnny h's Avatar
      johnny h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router password help

      Oh ok cheers.

      Is there anyway is there anyway to configure the router to allow certain devices such as laptop, console, smartphone etc and deny all other devices (wireless or ethernet)?

      thanks again

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky router password help

      The easiest way would be to use MAC filtering, this will then only allow devices that have been setup in the router. Once you have done this, change the router login and password so nobody else can get in to add more devices etc.

    6. #5
      johnny h's Avatar
      johnny h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router password help

      Will MAC filtering prevent ethernet access? If so how do I go about this?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky router password help

      Filtering will not prevent ethernet access, the only way to prevent this is to pull the plug out. By the way, MAC filtering is another way of saying use the Wireless Station Access list. Click Settings then the 'Set up access list' link and follow the instructions.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      DesertRaven's Avatar
      DesertRaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Virgin Media
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Reading, UK
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky router password help

      In 'LAN IP Setup' of the router you could use the 'reserve address' feature to give each of your devices a specific IP address (fixed by MAC address) and then limit the DHCP range to only those devices - that way if anything else wired/wirless connects it won't get an IP address and therefore won't work.
      Or keep a large hammer next to your router

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky router password help

      that way if anything else wired/wirless connects it won't get an IP address and therefore won't work.
      It will not give out an address, but any device with an IP address in the routers range entered manually will connect. ie if you reserve .2 to .4 and put the ending range at .4, anything with an address of .5 to 254 will be able to connect. The only way it would work is if the address range of the router was changed and kept secret.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION