Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    New sky router help???

    This is a discussion on New sky router help??? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi guys, Completely new to the forums, right straight to it.. yesterday an open reach engineer installed my new landline ...

    1. #1
      Quantum1's Avatar
      Quantum1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headingley (MYHEA)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New sky router help???

      Hi guys,

      Completely new to the forums, right straight to it.. yesterday an open reach engineer installed my new landline into my property. im still waiting for my router to show up along with the microfilters and everything etc. however my main issue is im concerned if the new router will be good enough to game online with my xbox. i previously had a netgear wnr2000 with a virgin cable connection and this was fine. i was wondering what the latest model router sky uses that they send out. any help would be ace thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      Any of the Sky routers are more than good enough to use on the xbox, you should try to connect it via ethernet though and not wireless if you can.

      Once you are all setup and the DLM training has finished you can then ask to have your max delays reduced which will decrease your ping times if DLM hasn;t already done it for you by then.

    4. #3
      Quantum1's Avatar
      Quantum1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headingley (MYHEA)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      thanks for the reply,

      i know in an ideal world it should be wired up but iv had no difficulty with wireless so far, i hosted pretty good 6mb games of MW2 with virgin last year,and to be honest i cant be bothered to go hooking down wires all over my new apartment

      All i wanted to know really were the models they sent out, iv seen netgear and sagem plastered all over the forums and now a few D/link. is there a set standard they send or is it as im afraid it is..pot luck?

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      It is pot luck.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      Most new customers are getting Dlinks, but you might be lucky and get a Sagem or Netgear.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Quantum1's Avatar
      Quantum1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headingley (MYHEA)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      Thanks for that, iv had previous experience with netgear and they've been pretty decent for me, have you any opinion on the new D/links or the sagem?

      thanks again

    8. #7
      kz3e's Avatar
      kz3e is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: north shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      hi mate i currently have the new Netgear V2 DG934G and i have no problems playing xbox live what so ever also my brother has the v1 similar to your old virgin one im thinking if it was the white one and again no problems with the online gaming side

      and any lag you may occur well you already know the blame for that as its people who are the servers these days lol

    9. #8
      clapton712's Avatar
      clapton712 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      I have the latest DLiNk and it's total rubbish on wireless, via a cable is no probes but pointless on wifi. Im getting a new router tomorrow to piggyback from my sky router to boost the wifi. I live in a one bed flat and my PS3 can only get about a 7% signal from only about 6m away!! I have tried everything so I think it's my only choice if I want a good wireless signal!

      Ben

    10. #9
      Quantum1's Avatar
      Quantum1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headingley (MYHEA)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      Quote Originally Posted by clapton712 View Post
      I have the latest DLiNk and it's total rubbish on wireless, via a cable is no probes but pointless on wifi. Im getting a new router tomorrow to piggyback from my sky router to boost the wifi. I live in a one bed flat and my PS3 can only get about a 7% signal from only about 6m away!! I have tried everything so I think it's my only choice if I want a good wireless signal!

      Ben
      Well to be honest mate thats exactly what i got, its a 1 bedroom flat with the router guna be placed not far away at all, about the same distance as you actually. iv always considered hooking my xbox upto cable rather than wireless. May well have to do it this year and just use the wireless 4 my laptop. Just a bit of a ballache to run the wire to it then tack the damn thing down cuz they dun half look unsightly all loose

    11. #10
      Quantum1's Avatar
      Quantum1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headingley (MYHEA)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      Quote Originally Posted by kz3e View Post
      hi mate i currently have the new Netgear V2 DG934G and i have no problems playing xbox live what so ever also my brother has the v1 similar to your old virgin one im thinking if it was the white one and again no problems with the online gaming side

      and any lag you may occur well you already know the blame for that as its people who are the servers these days lol
      Too rite there mate!! spesh MW2, thank god Black ops is guna be dedicated servers again!!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION