Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    New sky router help???

    This is a discussion on New sky router help??? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by Quantum1 Well to be honest mate thats exactly what i got, its a 1 bedroom flat with ...

    1. #11
      clapton712's Avatar
      clapton712 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      Quote Originally Posted by Quantum1 View Post
      Well to be honest mate thats exactly what i got, its a 1 bedroom flat with the router guna be placed not far away at all, about the same distance as you actually. iv always considered hooking my xbox upto cable rather than wireless. May well have to do it this year and just use the wireless 4 my laptop. Just a bit of a ballache to run the wire to it then tack the damn thing down cuz they dun half look unsightly all loose
      Well after a out of the blue phone call from sky I have a new router on the way so if you end up with the same problem phone them a few times to complain and hopefully you will have the same outcome!

      If not might be well worth investing in some homeplugs.

      Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      As you both live in flats did it not occur to you that in this environment wireless interference is inevitable. I wouldnt be surprised if you have at least 10 wifi networks in range of where your trying to use yours. In this environment no matter how good your router is I seriously doubt you'd be able to get a good signal.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #13
      Quantum1's Avatar
      Quantum1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headingley (MYHEA)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      As you both live in flats did it not occur to you that in this environment wireless interference is inevitable. I wouldnt be surprised if you have at least 10 wifi networks in range of where your trying to use yours. In this environment no matter how good your router is I seriously doubt you'd be able to get a good signal.

      Just because it is a flat dont assume you know what you are talking about. its actually a detached house where upstairs and downstairs are separate flats. So as for connectivity i 'seriously doubt' that i wont get a good connection

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      Does it have 'solid' walls (as in not thin stud walls)? Ultimately wireless is a massive fail so you're better off going wired or get some powerline adapters...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      Paul2003's Avatar
      Paul2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      450
      Thanks
      69
      Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      As you both live in flats did it not occur to you that in this environment wireless interference is inevitable. I wouldnt be surprised if you have at least 10 wifi networks in range of where your trying to use yours. In this environment no matter how good your router is I seriously doubt you'd be able to get a good signal.
      laptop im on now can pick up about ten routers that are in the street/across road some of them have no security protection either

    7. #16
      Paul2003's Avatar
      Paul2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      450
      Thanks
      69
      Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts

      Re: New sky router help???

      Quote Originally Posted by clapton712 View Post
      Well after a out of the blue phone call from sky I have a new router on the way so if you end up with the same problem phone them a few times to complain and hopefully you will have the same outcome!

      If not might be well worth investing in some homeplugs.

      Ben
      My old router (netgear) kept disconnecting,rang Sky and had a new Sagem one arrive today seems ok so far and fine for Xbox Live but i always uses the ethernet cable

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION