Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 31

    Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

    This is a discussion on Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934 within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi guys Got my new router today, it looks identical to the DG934 I had for 2-3 years but it ...

    1. #1
      ethos's Avatar
      ethos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Hi guys

      Got my new router today, it looks identical to the DG934 I had for 2-3 years but it has dlink plastered over it. Also the gui for configuring is exactly the same.

      There is no model on the router itself.

      What gives?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      The sagem was identical to the netgear apart from the sagem logo. It's perfectly normal, just like we have sky hd boxes which are externally identical but manufactured by thomson, pace, amstrad and samsung.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      ethos's Avatar
      ethos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      So it's actually a Dlink, how have they managed to get the GUI exactly the same as on the netgear?

      Pretty good stuff, should go live on Tuesday. Can't WAIT to get away from plusnet.

    5. #4
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      deleted
      Last edited by skypaulusplus; 08-10-10 at 09:58 PM.

    6. #5
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      75
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Quote Originally Posted by ethos View Post
      So it's actually a Dlink, how have they managed to get the GUI exactly the same as on the netgear?

      Pretty good stuff, should go live on Tuesday. Can't WAIT to get away from plusnet.
      I expect that it is because Sky install/use their own firmware on their supplied routers, which means that the GUI all look the same or very similar.

      I've just went live with Sky 5 days ago and I was sent the D-Link router. I find its a really good router, I've heard people say that the wireless range on it is the best out of all the Sky supplied routers.

      I previously had a Netgear DG834GT and I find the D-Link gives me a better/stronger wireless signal than the Netgear. The only thing with the D-Link's at present, is that no one has managed to find a way to extract the username and password from them, but I expect someone will find a way soon

    7. #6
      ethos's Avatar
      ethos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Excellent. Well all went live today, seems ok so far... hopefully sync speed will increase over the next 10 days a bit

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1664 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.0db 31.5db
      Noise Margin 9.1db 14.0db

    8. #7
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Your looking at only another 1mb on those stats as you have a very long line.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    9. #8
      ethos's Avatar
      ethos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      Your looking at only another 1mb on those stats as you have a very long line.
      I'd be happy with that

    10. #9
      ethos's Avatar
      ethos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Is there still a 10 day training period with LLU?

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Yes, unfortunately.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION