Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31

    Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

    This is a discussion on Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934 within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; It's the new grey master socket (see below), you can't plug into it, I assume it's the new setup for ...

    1. #21
      ethos's Avatar
      ethos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      It's the new grey master socket (see below), you can't plug into it, I assume it's the new setup for apartment blocks and the likes. It's in the maintenance room away from my apartment itself.

      I've plugged the router into the 1st socket into the apartment though.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      75
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Or I see.
      Its the first time I've seen these sockets. If you've plugged into the socket/main socket in your apartment, then that's as good has you can do

      Hope you get some extra speed

    4. #23
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Well you can always try disconnecting the extension wiring from the back of the first socket and see if you get any improvments!

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    5. #24
      ethos's Avatar
      ethos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      It goes from the grey master to first socket which runs the extension to the 2nd socket, which then runs the extension to the 3rd and final socket which is by the sky box and phone, so there's no way of disconnecting any of the sockets as this is all internal wiring!

      I'll give it a few weeks, see how it settles down. I promised myself I'd just leave the router on 24x7 and stop messing around with my connection this time around.

      With Plusnet I ended up messing around with the SNR and different routers waaaay too much.

    6. #25
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      You misunderstand me, what is to stop you from pulling the faceplate off the first socket and disconnecting the wire going to the 2nd socket (which in turn would disable the third etc if they're daisy chained)

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    7. #26
      ethos's Avatar
      ethos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      You misunderstand me, what is to stop you from pulling the faceplate off the first socket and disconnecting the wire going to the 2nd socket (which in turn would disable the third etc if they're daisy chained)
      I didn't misunderstand, I stated I couldn't d/c the 2nd as the 3rd socket is used for sky and the phone

      Even if I only did it for a test, it seems rather pointless as I'm not going to start re-wiring the internals of this apartment!

    8. #27
      ethos's Avatar
      ethos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Sky is now showing my line is in training.

      Connection Speed 1023 kbps 464 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.5db 38.7db
      Noise Margin 10.1db 12.0db

      Sadface!

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      With an XNTE your best bet is to fit and use one of these -
      ADSL Nation LTD.

      It is the same as an NTE filtered faceplate, but for use on an extension. When you have an XNTE, as you have, you have no real master socket within your house, this is the next best thing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      ethos's Avatar
      ethos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      I've already "invested" in the XF-1e Professional ADSL Microfilters for each socket.

      Would there be much benefit over quality microfilters?

    11. #30
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Router says Dlink but it looks like the old DG934

      Yes, if you remove the ADSL signal at the first socket it doesnt pick up additional noise from the internal wiring. Think about it BT use high quality cabling from the exchange to your property, the wiring inside your property is maybe only 1/2 as good as that and picks up noise the more of it the adsl signal goes through.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION