Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

    This is a discussion on Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I am planning to buy a Cisco Linksys Dual Band ADSL + Gigabit router to have HD streaming capability ...

    1. #1
      vikas112's Avatar
      vikas112 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

      Hi,

      I am planning to buy a Cisco Linksys Dual Band ADSL+ Gigabit router to have HD streaming capability over wifi in my home.

      Can a non Sky router+modem work with Sky Boradband?

      Regards,
      Vikas


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

      Yes it can be used but it is against the T&C's and you have to extract the username and password yourself (refer to the right part of the forum for this)

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

      HD streaming + WiFi = FAIL
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

      It is possible with a good wireless n router correctly configured to do HD streaming without problems

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

      deleted
      Last edited by skypaulusplus; 08-10-10 at 09:58 PM.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

      I have information that that is wrong.

    8. #7
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

      deleted
      Last edited by skypaulusplus; 08-10-10 at 09:58 PM.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

      that can be changed and really they cannot tell
      They can tell all right, if they really want to. All they have to do is hit it with a firmware update for the router that is supposed to be in use. If it is not accepted, it is not a Sky router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

      deleted
      Last edited by skypaulusplus; 08-10-10 at 09:58 PM.

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Can a Cisco ADSL Router work with Sky?

      Lol. I win without even firing a bullet!!!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION