Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Changing Routers

    This is a discussion on Changing Routers within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by deadman1984 check the address on your sky router that often changes also i noticed this quite alot ...

    1. #11
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Changing Routers

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      check the address on your sky router that often changes also i noticed this quite alot recently the numbers on the end of it kept altering stupid sky write down the following on a piece of paper or somthing. log into your sagem router and write down the ip address on the main page for dsl make sure you select ppoa for your new router next right down the ip subnet mask and gateway ip and domain. the mac address you get from the site posted above for the login details. now remember this all must be entered into your new router cause if its wrong it wont allow hope this helps if your still having issues let us know
      Even if this had some punctuation and was therefore readable, it would still be utter garbage.

      Of course the IP address of the router changes, its dynamic.
      Also making a note of the current routers IP settings will not help to connect the new one as they are received automatically from the ISP.

      Sorry, but I just had to correct this info.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Changing Routers

      I would advise you to return the router to factory settings by pushing and holding the reset button. Start again and if you are offered the setup wizard refuse it and set up manually using the following settings. Make sure you select UK as the location if given the option.
      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      The Username and Password you obtained.
      VPI.................0
      VCI.................38
      Multiplexing.... VC/MUX
      MTU..............1500

      DNS servers - ISP allocated or use the OpenDNS servers
      208.67.222.222 or/and 208.67.220.220

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Changing Routers

      what is it with people and puncuation i mean seriously i type how i type if you have trouble then sorry

    5. #14
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing Routers

      I also have trouble with your 5 year old grammar, spellings and punctuation. There's simply no need to type like you've never been to school.

    6. #15
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Changing Routers

      This thread is about Changing Routers information for Boylie1 and anyone who needs help. Nothing to do with the way someone uses Grammar, Spells or Punctuation. That does not sound like help. We are on SkyUser to help because we enjoy doing that.

    7. #16
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing Routers

      Actually steve its directly related, if deadman advice is not understandable it creates problems for the OP, not only that, deadman simply didn't know what he was talking about, again creating problems for the op or any one else experiencing a similar issue.

      Telling someone to speak english on a english speaking forum sounds like good advice to me.

    8. #17
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Changing Routers

      What is wrong with post #9, I understood every word and it was logical. What you have just done is picked on a person who is only trying to help other people. Because they themselves were helped. No one who has started a thread has to take any advice of anyone. We have Site Founders, Moderators, Beta tester, and people who work for Sky who are there to assist and help. There are Members from all over the World and I guess for some their first Language is not English. I could go on and on.

      Boylie1
      Hi sorry for the posts that were no help

    9. #18
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing Routers

      To be honest Steve, that's all crap, as well as been wrong. However, this topic cannot go any further until Boylie comes back.

    10. #19
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Changing Routers

      Do you not understand leave this thread alone if you have nothing constructive for Boylie and his thread Changing Routers. If you want to contact me you know where I am. This is the second thread you have picked on someone.
      The first being 10 day thing - what if router gets knocked off?

    11. #20
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing Routers

      Actually if you would of read the thread, you would of noticed i didn't 'pick' on anyone, he came to the forum with an attitude because he didn't get his 20 meg he thought he deserved.

      If you would of also read this thread, you would of noticed it was moleman who mentioned his terrible spelling and grammar.

      You also know your a hypocrite? By replying to this thread with the above post you are more off topic than my post, since my post was related to the topic and to boylie solving his problems.

      Sorry boylie for steve, his posts are of no help, and he is 'picking' on me.

      /sarcasm

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION