Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 39 of 39

    Unable to connect

    This is a discussion on Unable to connect within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Is that with the new download? If so verify that the file is 316mb in size and if it isnt ...

    1. #31
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Unable to connect

      Is that with the new download? If so verify that the file is 316mb in size and if it isnt then you havent downloaded it properly and will need to try again.
      This is the SP3 package you need.

      If your sure you have a valid SP3 installer then i'm afraid it sounds like it's time to reformat and reinstall the machine.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Chiblies's Avatar
      Chiblies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to connect

      Yeah thats the one I keep trying to reinstall. Is reformatting and reinstalling the machine a complicated thing to do?

    4. #33
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to connect

      Not really, Fairly simple, its usually the finding the right drivers thats the biggest pain, more so on laptops. And reinstalling all the software/updates can take a while.

      Use the Ethernet only while troubleshooting btw, once you sort your Ethernet, the wireless will easily follow.

      It doesn't look like you tried pinging 192.168.0.1? As it seems you've mostly concentrated on SP3 been the issue

      What happens when you type 192.168.0.1 in your address bar? (on your internet browser)

      Go to your network connections ( Control Panel / Network Connections )

      Then right click on the connection, click properties, click Internet protocol Version 4 and make sure its all set to automatic.

    5. #34
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Unable to connect

      Typing an IP into the address bar isn't pinging the IP??? You would need to either use a tool or drop to a cmd line and type
      ping 192.168.0.1
      and then press enter.
      OP you say you removed it without the installation disk? Did you do a system restore as this can cause further issues to changed system files and can sometimes make the problem worse. The best route is a full re-installation of Windows if you are going to go down the recovery path, you will need your installation media though.
      If you are constantly getting errors about it not being a W32 installer I would clear out all temp files, temp internet files and also disable your anti-virus software temporarily while downloading it.

    6. #35
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to connect

      I know exactly how to ping and no one said typing the ip into the address bar = pinging.
      "What happens when you type 192.168.0.1 into the address bar"

      There's also one more thing, Reset the router (properly) By holding the reset button at the back of the router in with a pen for 10-15 seconds
      Last edited by lindley010; 25-08-10 at 10:28 AM.

    7. #36
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unable to connect

      I doubt if resetting the router will cure a problem with the PC, but try it if you like.

      Why is the location of the download shown as j:\Windows.... Are you trying to install it from a removable disk? If so try copying it to your Desktop and see if it will install from there. This error message nearly always occurs when you have a corrupted download, so you may have to download it again. Before you do this, empty the Temporary folders on the machine you are using to download. To do this click Start, Run and type %Temp% and click OK. A folder full of files and other folders will appear. Select all the files and Delete them. Also delete all files in your Temporary Internet folder. How you do this depends on the browser you are using.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #37
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Unable to connect

      As isitme says there is little point resetting the router as the problem is with the pc.
      Did you run a CRC check on the downloaded file?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    9. #38
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to connect

      The reason i asked him to is because of this thread; http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/wirel...-new-post.html

    10. #39
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unable to connect

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      The reason i asked him to is because of this thread; http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/wirel...-new-post.html
      That's a good point, but the wireless access list would not stop connecting by ethernet, which he can't do either.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION