Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Router passkey not working

    This is a discussion on Router passkey not working within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, Looked briefly around the forums but can't find anyhting that seems to help. I reinstalled XP after a ...

    1. #1
      Jamess72's Avatar
      Jamess72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sky
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Leigh on sea, Essex
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router passkey not working

      Hi all,

      Looked briefly around the forums but can't find anyhting that seems to help.

      I reinstalled XP after a format and now the network key to my router does not work. I enter it and I just get the box stating incorrect key.

      It works fine through ethernet and when wireless, I can see my router on the select network list, but I can't connect.

      I have accessed the router admin page and the key is correct.

      I'm slightly stumped here.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Router passkey not working

      Change the key.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Router passkey not working

      I take it you're entering the network key in capitals? If not, ensure it's in capitals. If still no joy, follow the below:

      Bring up the list of networks and click 'change advanced settings' in the bottom left. Go the the 'wireless networks' tab and then delete the preferred network list. Click ok and try reconnecting with the network key all in caps.
      Last edited by User05; 25-07-10 at 11:10 PM. Reason: Edited as I don't seem to know the difference between left/right.

    5. #4
      Jamess72's Avatar
      Jamess72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sky
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Leigh on sea, Essex
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router passkey not working

      Thanks for your help, got it working.

      No idea what caused it, just kept trying the key and eventually it worked....strange.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router passkey not working

      If you are still using the default key you should change it to one of your own choosing. It does not need to be capital letters and can consist of 8 to 63 of any of the characters on your keyboard.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION