Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Two wireless routers on one network?

    This is a discussion on Two wireless routers on one network? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi Basically I have a Netgear DG834PN which works OK but for some reason it doesn't reach the whole house ...

    1. #1
      chunkylover53's Avatar
      chunkylover53 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Two wireless routers on one network?

      Hi

      Basically I have a Netgear DG834PN which works OK but for some reason it doesn't reach the whole house as fast as I would like therefore I want to extend the wireless connectivity. I am going to get a Sky Router so basically is it possible to connect them together using wireless so the signal is much stronger throughout the whole house?

      At the moment my PC is connected to the DG834PN using ethernet but I cannot get wireless upstairs so I want to somehow extend the signal using the sky router so my laptop works upstairs.

      Thanks for your help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Two wireless routers on one network?

      I think you will have to connect them via an ethernet cable to do what you want.

      An easier way would be to get a couple of homeplugs, one with a wireless access point built in than then you can move it to anywhere you need.

    4. #3
      chunkylover53's Avatar
      chunkylover53 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two wireless routers on one network?

      So I can connect my wireless router to this:
      Faculty-X Homeplug WiFi model PL-85PEW

      Then connect my PC to this:
      85mbps Homeplug turbo 1.0 value homeplugs

      So it will extend coverage plus my PC and laptop will get good speeds


      WIRELESS ROUTER---->WIRELESS HOMEPLUG--->l (WIRELESS EXTENDING TO LAPTOP)
      l
      l
      l
      l
      NORMAL HOMEPLUG------>PC (CONNECTED VIA ETHERNET HOMEPLUG

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Two wireless routers on one network?

      You'll be lucky to get 4mb/s or 400kb/s transfer with the 85mb homeplugs, I wouldnt use anything less than the 200mb ones.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Two wireless routers on one network?

      really I get 75 mb/sec with my max value homeplugs.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    7. #6
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Two wireless routers on one network?

      I've tried them in numerous configurations and average out at 4mb/s unless they're connected in sockets which are very close together. Depends on how your mains is wired I suppose.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    8. #7
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Two wireless routers on one network?

      I have 85 mb/sec Homeplugs and my network gives typically 50 mb/sec but can be as high as 60 mb/sec. My son has a very large Edwardian property and uses Homeplugs 3 floors apart and has speeds of >40 mb/sec. Lower speeds indicate a very noisy mains supply and can be effected by fluorescent lights and microwave ovens.

      You connect them as follows:

      Router LAN outlet to Homeplug LAN input - plugged in a mains socket near router

      Wireless Homeplug in any other mains outlet at your location

      Your PC continues to connect direct to your router and you can continue to use the primary wireless from the router as well as the secondary wireless from the Wireless Homeplug provided you have them on different wireless channels well spaced (ie Ch 1 and 7 or above, if you use Ch 7 as standard then use 1 or 12 for the secondary).

      I've used Faculty-X for my Homeplugs and they have been very competitive abd very helpful.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Two wireless routers on one network?

      I easily and always get over 50mb with my Solwise 85mb homeplugs, this inclused all three I have.

      Not sure what your problem is Simon but it seems it is specific to you and your homeplugs. They could be a poorly connected mains socket, have you tried connecting it into a different one, also they don't seem to like some mains blocks/extension leads.

      Personally, I think they are one of the best inventions for home networking.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION