Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Does Sky have a wireless N router?

    This is a discussion on Does Sky have a wireless N router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Here's to hoping that someone will work out the crack to get the username/password out of the D-link pretty soon. ...

    1. #11
      DesertRaven's Avatar
      DesertRaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Virgin Media
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Reading, UK
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Does Sky have a wireless N router?

      Here's to hoping that someone will work out the crack to get the username/password out of the D-link pretty soon.
      Technically speaking, you could pick up an old Sky router on eBay (about 5) and extract it's password if you don't want to 'wait'.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Does Sky have a wireless N router?

      Assuming the router in question isn't suspended
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      Zee's Avatar
      Zee
      Zee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Stratford, London
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does Sky have a wireless N router?

      Any updates on this? BT Infinity is starting to look very tempting especially as their router has N capability and my speed is dropping since I connected my router to the master socket
      I dont suffer from insanity... I enjoy every minute of it!

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Does Sky have a wireless N router?

      Strange that you should ask this now...

      New Sky sagecom F@ST3304N router

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      Zee's Avatar
      Zee
      Zee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Stratford, London
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does Sky have a wireless N router?

      How do I get one?
      I dont suffer from insanity... I enjoy every minute of it!

    7. #16
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      312
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: Does Sky have a wireless N router?

      Much simpler to get a separate N router, e.g.
      Buffalo Wireless-N300 Cable Router / Access Point.. | Ebuyer.com : currently 20.99

      Even if Sky roll out their new router soon I doubt they will give it for free to existing customers and that way you also have a fail safe should something go wrong.

      Better still, get a router with 5GHz capability. Sky's N router is not going to be dual-band so you still run the risk of interference from neighbours. I have at least 4 other wifi networks + a cordless phone within range of my home laptop so I now run a Linksys WRT320N alongside my Sky Sagem and get much better coverage plus gigabit connection to a NAS unit.

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Does Sky have a wireless N router?

      I might need to state the obvious, but that router is a Cable router, not directly suitable for ADSL.

      You would have to run it in tandem with the Sky router.

      For the tech junkies out there, there are a couple of nice looking dual band routers I have found, offering 1Gbit LAN and the ability to connect via ADSL & Cable. One of them even has the ability to use a 3G dongle as well.

      Draytek Vigor 2820VN Dual WAN Wireless-N ADSL2+ VoIP VPN Firewall Modem Router

      Billion BiPAC 7800N Wireless-N ADSL2+ / DSL Firewall Modem Router

      Sadly both only use WiFi on the 2.4Ghz range.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #18
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Does Sky have a wireless N router?

      Apple's Airport Extreme Base Station does offer duel band WiFi. I presume these can also be run along side your existing Sky Router.

      I'm currently bridging my old Netgear DG834N router which works like a charm with my D-Link Sky Router. The DG834N handles the WiFi and the D-Link router does the rest. The only thing is the DG834N WiFi only seems to run at a maximum speed of 144Mbps even though it's capable of upto 270Mbps.
      Last edited by James_Mitchell; 19-02-11 at 09:52 PM.

    10. #19
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      312
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: Does Sky have a wireless N router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I might need to state the obvious, but that router is a Cable router, not directly suitable for ADSL.

      You would have to run it in tandem with the Sky router.
      I knew that (but didn't say it too well!)

      For 20 quid it's a decent option to replacing the router if you don't mind staying with 2.4GHz, and stays within the Sky T&Cs.

    11. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Does Sky have a wireless N router?

      Quote Originally Posted by SadBloke View Post
      ...For 20 quid it's a decent option to replacing the router if you don't mind staying with 2.4GHz, and stays within the Sky T&Cs.
      True. I felt it was important to mention what it was so that anyone reading the thread wasn't mislead into thinking that they could use it instead of the Sky Router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION