Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Router reboot syndrome

    This is a discussion on Router reboot syndrome within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; You could always get the usename and password out of it so you have a spare, that's what I did, ...

    1. #11
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Router reboot syndrome

      You could always get the usename and password out of it so you have a spare, that's what I did, although I have never needed to use it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router reboot syndrome

      One other thing that could cause this is spikes in your power supply. Do you have a surge suppressor?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      murphwiz's Avatar
      murphwiz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMSX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reboot syndrome

      Yes on a surge protected line, just seems odd it appears at it's worst when something connectsto it for the first time that day?
      Even main computer will cause rebooting for a few minutes until it settles down?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router reboot syndrome

      I remember 2 or 3 years ago there was a case like this. It was connected to the power supply. IIRC the only cure was a new router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      murphwiz's Avatar
      murphwiz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMSX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reboot syndrome

      I've ordered a new router from sky... I hope it cures it!

    7. #16
      murphwiz's Avatar
      murphwiz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMSX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reboot syndrome

      Just to update this thread.
      Had to cough up for a router from sky, they sent a sagem F@st thingy.

      Seems all is cured, my wifi drops out have gone away, can download to my hearts content and it stays connected..
      Just got to try streaming to tv, i suspect that is also cured
      Thanks for all advise, my stats are now:

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 147:56:13
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4813471 8017489 0 4730 0 147:55:14
      LAN 15 0 0 0 0 147:56:13
      WLAN 7958758 4924960 0 203470 5792 147:55:51
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14328 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.5 db 10.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 14.2 db

    8. #17
      murphwiz's Avatar
      murphwiz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMSX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reboot syndrome

      Looks like the replacement router is poop to!
      Looses wi-fi at random, 2 ways to get wifi back, give router a shake/change it's position, or a reboot.
      Fantastic!
      Time to make another call

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION