Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

    This is a discussion on DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've just been upgraded by Sky to Unlimited. Before I was on the Mid package and consistently maintained about 8 ...

    1. #1
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

      I've just been upgraded by Sky to Unlimited. Before I was on the Mid package and consistently maintained about 8 MB/sec. However I've just checked my stats and my noise margin has dropped to 2.8 from 7+. Is this DLM or do I have a problem which will effect my new speed ?

      My stats are:

      System Up Time 333:46:03
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 11 12 0 368 215 00:00:07
      LAN 10M/100M 4656419 3786151 0 2942 1327 333:46:00
      WLAN 11M/54M 5000336 3389833 0 1868 315 333:45:52


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9213 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.5 db 12.8 db
      Noise Margin 2.8 db 19.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

      Just tried again and now the noise margin is a little better:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9213 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.5 db 12.8 db
      Noise Margin 5.5 db 19.5 db

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

      You have a problem somewhere. With your attenuation you should be looking at 16+Mb, with your stats you are not going to get anywhere near that. You should know the procedure to check from your Test socket, if you don't have a look here,-
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

      Stats now showing a much improved noise margin of 8.3 which is about as good as I get.

      SL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9213 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.5 db 12.8 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 19.0 db

      Running a Speed Test shows 9 MB/sec down and 0.5 MB/sec upload.

      Is it normal for noise margin figures to vary so much during the day?

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

      What would be deemed as 'normal' would depend on the individual line. Some will not suffer any issues with a swing that high, others, like my own, will error heavily and drop sync.

      I'm with Isitme - get into the test socket as your stats should be better than they are.

    7. #6
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

      OK I'm trying to find my Test Socket.........it's not obvious!

      My noise margin is now 10.5 and full stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9213 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 13.1 db
      Noise Margin 10.5 db 14.0 db

      This gives a speed of 8.3 MB down and 0.64 upload.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

      That is much better and it seems like your upload has increased overnight so DLM is at work. Fitting and using a filtered faceplate would be your best bet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

      The problem is I don't seem to have a Master Socket. I know I 'must' have one but the two original fit outlets in my apartment are just standard extension faceplates (ie they don't have the removable lower half) which is a pity as I have bought an ADSL Nation XTE-2005 already. This of course means I can't use the Test Socket' as I don't have one. I plan to remove the second socket and have a look when I move an item of furniture!

      Edit: I've now had a look at my two sockets. The one I'm using for my ADSL has two white cables, the extension has a single white cable. The one with two white cables has no obvious signs of the capacitors etc I associate with the 'Master'.

      When the external connection was made by Openreach the engineer never entered my apartment and simply connected the new black cable from the street to the white cable he found in the utilities cupboard.

      So what do I do now? I opted out of the switch to the Sky system even though I pay Sky my line rental and take Sky Talk/BB from Sky.
      Last edited by dms05; 01-07-10 at 02:38 PM.

    10. #9
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

      The one with two white cables will be where it comes into your apartment if you have two sockets only and the other just has a white cable. You should in theory be able to replace this with an NTE5 if you can work out which of the cables is your input and which goes to the extension.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM about to start and Noise Margin has collapsed

      When the external connection was made by Openreach the engineer never entered my apartment and simply connected the new black cable from the street to the white cable he found in the utilities cupboard.
      He should not have connected to a cable. He should have fitted a master socket and connected your cable to it. It is up to you, you can ask them to come back and do the job properly or you can fit an NTE5 box yourself.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION