Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29

    Can't log into the router?

    This is a discussion on Can't log into the router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'll give it a go. If I get stuck (probably) I post up for more help Thanks....

    1. #21
      TTT's Avatar
      TTT
      TTT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't log into the router?

      I'll give it a go.

      If I get stuck (probably) I post up for more help


      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      TTT's Avatar
      TTT
      TTT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't log into the router?

      The computer doesn't connect to the router unless I set the ip and dns manually as per User05 post (post # 2 in the thread)

      With these set the computer connects to the router but the recovery tool still shows nothing in the device list?

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      You need to do the firmware swap trick with the DG834PN (I think) firmware if you dont get the router detected with the recovery tool.
      How can I change the firmware if I can't connect to the router? I don't understand?


      Thanks.

    4. #23
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Can't log into the router?

      1. Are you using 32-bit windows XP (nothing else will work properly)
      Firmware swap:
      Download the firmware you wish to trick the utility with and rename the .img file from that as "firmware.img" and place it in the folder with the recovery utility (Move any other .img files out of this folder)
      Run the recovery utility as normal
      When you see the device in the device list go back to the folder where the utility is and move the firmware.img out of it **DO NOT Close the Utility**
      Get the firmware you need to flash the router with and rename it "firmware.img" copy it into the folder you just moved the old firmware.img out of.
      Switch back to the firmware utility and continue the flash, it will flash the firmware.img file which you just copied to the router.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    5. #24
      TTT's Avatar
      TTT
      TTT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't log into the router?

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      ...Are you using 32-bit windows XP (nothing else will work properly)
      ...Run the recovery utility as normal
      ...When you see the device in the device list
      Yes I'm using 32-bit windows XP.

      The router doesn't show in the device list.

      With the router connected by the ethernet cable & in flash mode (power & test lights flashing alternatively) I run the recovery utility (upgrade wizard) I choose NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller & hit Next....the Device list page that comes up is blank.

      Thanks.

    6. #25
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Can't log into the router?

      Have you tried a firmware swap (Directions in prev post) with DG834PN firmware?
      The recovery utlity only brings up routers which match the firmware .img it has in the folder. If it cant do that it wont bring them up - easily happens with corrupt firmware which is why you have to trick the utility with a different firmware.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't log into the router?

      Sometimes for the utility to work, you need another adapter installed. Many have found that downloading and installing the MS loopback driver solves the problem. Get it from here-
      How to install the Microsoft Loopback adapter in Windows XP

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      TTT's Avatar
      TTT
      TTT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't log into the router?

      Yeah I tried a firmware swap, I have tried various firmwares in the recovery utility folder but still the device list is empty.

      I have also tried the MS loopback driver but still no joy.


      I guess the router is knackered, unless there is anything else I can try?



      Thanks.

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't log into the router?

      All I can suggest is that you try another PC. I lost count of the PCs and different network cards I tried before I finally got it to work with GT. I have not seen many reports of people having difficulties with the DG934 so it could be yours is well and truly bricked.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      TTT's Avatar
      TTT
      TTT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't log into the router?

      Our other laptop is running Vista so that's not really an option but I do have an old PC in the cupboard, I'll dig out in the next day or so & give that a go, but I fear the worst with this router.

      Many thanks to everyone who helped me with this problem


      Thanks.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION