Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Got New Router

    This is a discussion on Got New Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, posted here about a week ago saying how bad Sky were doing for me, well, after I stopped ...

    1. #1
      PizzedOff's Avatar
      PizzedOff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Got New Router

      Hi all, posted here about a week ago saying how bad Sky were doing for me, well, after I stopped posting here, the speed went up a bit and could stream online videos and play online games. Sky sent me a new Sagem router because I couldnt connect to the other one directly through wireless, I had to piggy-back my Netgear onto it.

      Anyway heres my problem, ever since I put this new router on, ive had pretty slow speeds. Im on Sky Unlimited so I should be able to handle whatever my line offers, and I think by reading the noise margin, it should be around 12-15MB, but in the statistics, im supposedly getting:
      Connection Speed 9696 kbps 800 kbps

      Which I think would do me just fine... If i were actually getting that...

      I was trying to download a pre load of a game earlier, and my speed dipped below 100kbps and speedtest.net shows that I am getting:


      Before it got to 0.96 it was averaging around 0.52.

      Im still in the testing phase and have asked countless times for them to turn DLM off and to have it capped at 20MB but they say over and over again that they cant turn it off incase there are any problems with the line. My friends works for a networking company and said that there shouldnt be any problems on my line with an averagely(?) good noise margin and line attenuation.

      Line Attenuation 15.0 db 9.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 16.0 db

      Can someone help me with what I can do apart from the obvious 3 that ive already tried (that I can think of from the top of my head), reset the router, reboot the router, retry the old router.

      Thanks in advance.

      P.S Ive only tried channels 6 and 11 at the moment so I will give them a try and update this thread.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Got New Router

      Connection Speed 9696 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.0 db 9.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 16.0 db

      There is a lot of noise on the line.

      How many telephone sockets do you use in the house?
      Does every socket have a microfilter connected directly into the socket, with nothing before the filter?
      Do you have sky tv plugged into a telephone socket?
      Is the router plugged into the master socket?
      Are you running an extension cable to the router?

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Got New Router

      I agree with User05, sounds like you have internal wiring/setup issues.

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Got New Router

      I second what user05 is saying there with 15.0db attenuation (Very Short Line), and to only get 7.6db noise margin at 9696kbps there is something wrong with the line or internal wiring. If you have one try the test socket behind the faceplate of your master socket and repost your stats (inc attenuation+noise).

    6. #5
      PizzedOff's Avatar
      PizzedOff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got New Router

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      How many telephone sockets do you use in the house?
      1 Master Socket, thats it
      Does every socket have a microfilter connected directly into the socket, with nothing before the filter?
      The setup is, Sky TV Splitter with micro filter in one socket, and phone in the other, in micro filter, only the adsl cable is plugged in
      Do you have sky tv plugged into a telephone socket?
      Yes
      Is the router plugged into the master socket?
      Yes
      Are you running an extension cable to the router?
      No
      Questions answered in bold

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      I second what user05 is saying there with 15.0db attenuation (Very Short Line), and to only get 7.6db noise margin at 9696kbps there is something wrong with the line or internal wiring. If you have one try the test socket behind the faceplate of your master socket and repost your stats (inc attenuation+noise).
      When I was on the phone to Sky, the guy told me they usually try to set the noise margin to around 7db. Is that a bad noise margin then? Could you give me an example of what a good noise margin would be?

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Got New Router

      Ok, do the following and then reboot the router, re-take the stats and post them back.

      Fix the set-up into the telephone socket as follows:

      INSTEAD of the splitter being first, the filter has to be first into the telephone socket.

      master socket > microfilter > router

      the splitter goes into the 'phone' side of the filter and then the phone/skytv plug into the splitter. Rule of thumb is the filter is first into the socket.

    8. #7
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Got New Router

      The noise margin is fine but it is bad for the attenuation at the sync speed your at. If you were syncing up at 16-20mb then that noise would be fine. At 9mb it should be at least double what it is with your short low attenuation line.
      Your setup is also incorrect, the micro filter should be before the SKY Tv splitter, it should be the first thing connected to your telephone socket you should not have any splitter connected before the filter - this will cause you broadband issues such as slow speeds, tons of errors and broadband going off when someone phones you.

    9. #8
      PizzedOff's Avatar
      PizzedOff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got New Router

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Ok, do the following and then reboot the router, re-take the stats and post them back.

      Fix the set-up into the telephone socket as follows:

      INSTEAD of the splitter being first, the filter has to be first into the telephone socket.

      master socket > microfilter > router

      the splitter goes into the 'phone' side of the filter and then the phone/skytv plug into the splitter. Rule of thumb is the filter is first into the socket.
      I dont really know if you would call the splitter-thing a splitter because all it really is doing is extending the sky TV cable from my front room, to my hallway, and at the end of it is 2 phone sockets. (I dont know if this is a splitter or not, not too good on phone line cables etc).

      Its funny though because everytime ive had a problem with the router, they always tell me a different set up. The one you have mentioned was my first set up that I did on my own. The following are completely different. Anyway, I will be back in a bit with the statistics.

    10. #9
      PizzedOff's Avatar
      PizzedOff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got New Router

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9888 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.0 db 9.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.4 db 18.0 db

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Got New Router

      Not much of a change. This time remove everything from the socket and just plug in the filter directly into the telephone socket and just the grey dsl cable sky supplied to the router and re-take the stats.

      After this, if there's still not much change, then test socket is the next step.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION