Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Hating sky router!

    This is a discussion on Hating sky router! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by Isitme Do you have your Netgear piggy-backed to the Sagem? I was going to suggest you try ...

    1. #11
      PizzedOff's Avatar
      PizzedOff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hating sky router!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Do you have your Netgear piggy-backed to the Sagem? I was going to suggest you try this as you can then switch off the wireless in your Sagem which will cure your security problem.

      Did you have your phone line installed by Sky? If so, you will be on the SVBN, which can give some problems, especially when newly connected.
      Thats how im talking on the forums at the moment, netgear is linked to the sagem. Only reason why ive got the wireless still on the sagem is because I mostly use the internet for online gaming, and my NAT is set to moderate through the netgear and Open through the sagem on my PS3. I only use my PC for streaming videos or downloading stuff.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Hating sky router!

      I think you may want to turn off the DHCP server in the Netgear and ensure that it is on in the Sagem. If you are using DHCP in the Netgear, this may cause your 'Moderate' problem, using it purely as a switch should not cause this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      PizzedOff's Avatar
      PizzedOff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hating sky router!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think you may want to turn off the DHCP server in the Netgear and ensure that it is on in the Sagem. If you are using DHCP in the Netgear, this may cause your 'Moderate' problem, using it purely as a switch should not cause this.
      Since ive turned DHCP off, my PS3 wont even obtain the IP address.

    5. #14
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Hating sky router!

      Is the DHCP on the Sagem enabled? Why not just fix the IP of the PS3 instead?

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Hating sky router!

      Have you tried rebooting the PS and the router? I don't have a PS3 but from what I have read they work better with a fixed IP address. Has it solved your Belkin problem?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      PizzedOff's Avatar
      PizzedOff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hating sky router!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Have you tried rebooting the PS and the router? I don't have a PS3 but from what I have read they work better with a fixed IP address. Has it solved your Belkin problem?
      Well ive been connected through my netgear with my belkiin since i got sky, hasnt fixed the belkin to sagem problem. Rebooted all 3 and still cant obtain the IP so im gonna bridge the connection for now until I get sick of it and call sky to send me the netgear router. Its starting to really **** me off now... All this trouble, should have stayed with Virgin lol

    8. #17
      PizzedOff's Avatar
      PizzedOff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hating sky router!

      Even after I bridge the damn connection, it still cant obtain the IP!!!! **** sky! Worst experience with broadband ever!

    9. #18
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Hating sky router!

      If you connect the PS3 direct to the Sagem do you get an IP?

    10. #19
      PizzedOff's Avatar
      PizzedOff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hating sky router!

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      If you connect the PS3 direct to the Sagem do you get an IP?
      I cant connect it to the PS3 via Ethernet thats why im using wireless. Im getting sick and tired of this internet now, im going to ring them and find out wtf is happening!

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Hating sky router!

      99.99% certain issue is your end...be it router or just some other setup issue
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION