Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Help I Just Got My Router But Don't Have An Ethernet Port!!

    This is a discussion on Help I Just Got My Router But Don't Have An Ethernet Port!! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Yes, I Know, That Where Computers Are Concerned, I'm A Div But I Do Want To Learn, Honest!! My Situation ...

    1. #1
      Anxious's Avatar
      Anxious is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01708
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Upminster
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help I Just Got My Router But Don't Have An Ethernet Port!!

      Yes, I Know, That Where Computers Are Concerned, I'm A Div But I Do Want To Learn, Honest!!
      My Situation Is, I Have Just The One Computer, I Don't Want Others Linked In, I'm Happy To Work In Just The One Location But I Don't Have An Ethernet Port, Just A Simple Usb. Can I Get An Adapter And If So Where?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi Anxious

      You would be better off buying a network card, even if you dont know what to do, if you take your PC to a local PC shop, it should only cost about 10 - 20 fitted.

      If you are confident to do it yourself about 3 - 10

      It really is easy to do it yourself and if you need help just ask on here




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If you have a spare PCI slot in your PC then you should go down to PC World and get One of these and if you don't know who to fit they will do it for you but they will charge you.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      Anxious's Avatar
      Anxious is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01708
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Upminster
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sorry but I'm confused - is a network card incorporating an ethernet connector or do I then need to discard the lead supplied by Sky for one with a USB fitting? I'd like to fit it myself so if you can guide me through the procedure I'd appreciate it, thanks.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      network card = ethernet




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Anxious's Avatar
      Anxious is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01708
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Upminster
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK but how do I connect up?

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      1) Buy the card

      2) Switch your pc off and unplug all cables

      3) Take the side off machine

      4) Carefully remove one of the blanking plates at the back of the PC

      5) Push Network / Ethernet card into the white slot

      6) Screw the card into the back of the PC case

      7) Put the side back on and then connect all cables

      8) If on XP very unlikely you will need to do anything else

      Anything you are not sure about or need further clarification just ask




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      @Anxious

      USB to ethernet adapters are widely available if you do not wish to try and fit an internal one.

      See here for advice on fitting a PCI card.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    10. #9
      Anxious's Avatar
      Anxious is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01708
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Upminster
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi Wheelie.
      Only just realised you had included a link in your reply...told you I was new to computers! Thanks for the help, think I'll go for the Netgear FA311 as it is the same make as the router and I've seen the RJ-45 description on other postings so, unless someone tells me otherwise in the time between now and tomorrow morning I'll be off to PC World. Fingers crossed it'll all be worth it as some of the comments on the forum re: Sky are pretty scary!

    11. #10
      Anxious's Avatar
      Anxious is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01708
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Upminster
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks NewsreadeR, very helpful.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION