Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

    This is a discussion on SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, Please can anyone help - this is driving me crazy! I asked for Sky's help with improving reception around ...

    1. #1
      Max007's Avatar
      Max007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

      Hi,
      Please can anyone help - this is driving me crazy!

      I asked for Sky's help with improving reception around my home (using the Sky Sagem Router wirelessly). They suggested changing frequencies and moving the router. I tried this - but still can't get reception downstairs in the kitchen unless I take the router downstairs.

      Can I upgrade my router with them to something else? Is Netgear better maybe (my Sagem doesn't have any ariels)?
      Would it invalidate my contract with them to buy a router from someone else?

      Are all routers the same speed by the way please?

      Thanks,
      Max007


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Chug a Bug's Avatar
      Chug a Bug is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Yes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      south coast
      Posts
      369
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

      Sky won't allow you to use another router. It's possible to extract the username and password and use it with another, but there have been stories told of Sky blocking said routers.

      Homeplugs would seem to be your answer.

    4. #3
      DesertRaven's Avatar
      DesertRaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Virgin Media
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Reading, UK
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

      The original Sky router (DG834GT) http://www.skyuser.co.uk/skyinfo/1086.html has the advantage of an external antenna, I’ve found using a higher gain antenna really helped – I use this one: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Newlink-Wire...2186059&sr=8-5 this antenna lets you direct the signal in a specific direction.

      Otherwise you could either use Homeplugs or if it’s got to be wireless then maybe just use your current Sky router as the ADSL modem and boost the wireless by connecting a more powerful wireless router to it, e.g., http://www.netgear.co.uk/wnr2000.php

    5. #4
      Max007's Avatar
      Max007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

      Hi,
      Thanks for your advice - the plugs look interesting. I noticed they come in 2 speeds 85 mb/s and 200 mb/s - do I have to match the speed to my Sagem Router or do I just go for the fastest I can afford please?

      I'm sorry to be dopey but I'm not sure what the Sagem speed is anyway (I think it's 100mb/s wired to my PC and 54 mb/s wireless??) Any help please?

      It's a shame if I have to keep to this as I've noticed companies selling 300 mb/s routers for around 30.

      Sky have changed the way you E-Mail them and all I get now is automated helpguides back

      I'm really confused.

      Thanks,

      Max
      Last edited by Max007; 25-04-10 at 11:25 AM. Reason: SP error

    6. #5
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

      I wouldn't worry to much about using a non sky router, many people do it
      although its officially breaking terms and conditions Sky have never cut anyone
      off that I am aware off, and I work for them.

      Just don't go calling up asking for support with your own router attached, but even if you
      did they would just tell you to connect up the Sky router while you were on the line.

      If you do go the wireless N way make sure your pc also has a wireless N adaptor, or just go for homeplugs the slower 85mbps ones are fine for internet use as your connection even at best could only be 20mbs , the faster ones are for those who want to share files between computers on a network.

    7. #6
      Max007's Avatar
      Max007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

      Thanks again for your advice. It might not be appropriate to post it here but I had a go at the SPEEDTEST.NET utility I saw you had used. I got AWFUL results even though I live near a major city and my PC is connected directly to the router (but to a phone extension upstairs).
      2.42 Download
      0.37 Upload
      73 Ping
      I thought I was on 8MB Broadband - getting about 5.5MB speed.
      WOW Now I REALLY am confused - perhaps I'm just getting old
      Any advice please?
      Max
      Last edited by Max007; 25-04-10 at 02:31 PM.

    8. #7
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

      speedtest.net is rubbish for a better speed tester use the one on this site
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    9. #8
      Max007's Avatar
      Max007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      speedtest.net is rubbish for a better speed tester use the one on this site
      Thanks - I tried the one on here and received these results for my Sky Connect 8MB Service:
      1016 kb/s Download
      366 kb/s Upload

      Is this poor? Do you think it's the router that might be slow?
      Thanks!
      Max

    10. #9
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

      Max007
      Hi are you on the Sky Mid/Everyday or the connect package if you are on the connect package
      it is being Traffic Managed from 5pm till Midnight

    11. #10
      Max007's Avatar
      Max007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SAGEM Improve Range/ Sky supply a better one?

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      Max007
      Hi are you on the Sky Mid/Everyday or the connect package if you are on the connect package
      it is being Traffic Managed from 5pm till Midnight
      Hi,
      I'm on Sky Connect -the one at 17 a month for 8MB

      Thanks for everyone's patience

      Max

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION