Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 51

    Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

    This is a discussion on Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Seems weird how Sky have jumped from 1.9Sky to 2.6... You would think they'd have tested this properly. It's very ...

    1. #41
      takuhii's Avatar
      takuhii is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stony Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

      Seems weird how Sky have jumped from 1.9Sky to 2.6...

      You would think they'd have tested this properly. It's very annoying that if they f*ck up your router you have to pay to replace it, and not receive one free

      I managed to blag a Sagem F@st 2405 (or is it 2504, I forget) out of them a couple of years ago, thinking it would be a better router, Always been a fan of Netgear, but the wi-fi reception in my house was Flaky at best, the Sagem actually improved the Wi-Fi. Still prefer NetGear though, at least the Firmware was reliable...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

      Tbh if they're going to insist on you using there router then they should always replace it if it breaks. You just have to threaten to migrate your broadband away from them and they usually send you a new one for free

    4. #43
      takuhii's Avatar
      takuhii is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stony Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

      I agree m. If sky are so adamant that we have to use there router, they should stop this whole 'pay for a replacement thing'

    5. #44
      GuitarJammin'76's Avatar
      GuitarJammin'76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      Tbh if they're going to insist on you using there router then they should always replace it if it breaks. You just have to threaten to migrate your broadband away from them and they usually send you a new one for free
      Indeed - the magic words: sort it out NOW, or I'll change supplier!

    6. #45
      danny taylor's Avatar
      danny taylor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCASB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Bolton
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

      my routers settings didnt change at all when this happend maybe they reset urs for a reason?

    7. #46
      rafkid's Avatar
      rafkid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01225
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      There is a work around for the IP reservation problem.

      Reserve an IP address above 200 and then go and edit it to change it back to what ever you want.
      Thank you, thank you and once again thank you.

      Grief, what a pile of rubbish this Sagem is..................I have literally wasted tens of hours in the last twelve days, assuming it was me that was making mistakes over various issues. The last thing to be resolved is the minuscule range of the wifi of the Sagem, the urge to ditch it in favour of another manufacturers device is pretty nigh overwhelming especially as I now know my user name and password thanks to this site

      Work around applied, I wonder why Sky technical support could not tell me of this work around two days ago? It is their product, surely they should have the fix's available to the support peeps?

      Ho hum

      Thanks for reading

    8. #47
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

      Work around applied, I wonder why Sky technical support could not tell me of this work around two days ago? It is their product, surely they should have the fix's available to the support peeps?
      Where do you think we got the work around from?

      It's just not widely known in Sky CS by the looks of it, however some Sky guys let us know stuff so that we can help others.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #48
      rafkid's Avatar
      rafkid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01225
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Where do you think we got the work around from?

      It's just not widely known in Sky CS by the looks of it, however some Sky guys let us know stuff so that we can help others.
      Presumably from Sky? Is that what you are implying? I guess you are, nevertheless my frustration stands with Sky CS, my life, simply because I changed ISP for lots of good reasons, should not have gone on hold for days whilst I struggled with a shoddy product. Nor should all the people who were waiting for access to the servers at my home lan have had to wait simply because I could not get a simple process to work due to having to use the Sky product.

      I take your point about some of the Sky peeps being outstanding, of course they are and I take my hat off to them for providing the information you allude to, nevertheless the words Sagem, and ip reservation should have had the person/s I spoke to spouting, "reserve an address at 192.169.0.200 for the mac address you want reserving, then edit it after it has been saved". As with all the work around's it should have been readily available to be told to me the first time I phoned in.

      I am sure a lot of Sky customer support do an excellent job as do the people who run this forum.

      I speak as an ex helpdesk employee (Oracle Financials 11i of circa 1999/2001)

      Thanks once again for reading and your reply, I appreciate it.

    10. #49
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

      As with all the work around's it should have been readily available to be told to me the first time I phoned in.
      I totally agree, however, it's not just Sky who operate like this. I had similare issues with o2 and their so called router.

      It all depends who you get through to I bet, some agents just do not need to know, and as Sky is purely for the home user, I guess Sky do not feel the need to train staff or give them the info for stuff like VPN and static IPs as the majority of people wouldn't need either of these.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #50
      takuhii's Avatar
      takuhii is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stony Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Firmware 2.6 upgrade?

      5 months on and still no upgrade. Anyone know how to force it?

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION