Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 24 of 24

    router wired connection problem............

    This is a discussion on router wired connection problem............ within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Look in the Device Manager. Right click My Computer, select Properties then the Hardware Tab and click the Device Manager ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: router wired connection problem............

      Look in the Device Manager. Right click My Computer, select Properties then the Hardware Tab and click the Device Manager button. Are there any ! or ? red/yellow marks next to any of the items, possibly called Other hardware. Does it show the network card is properly installed?

      Sorry, my connection to the forum dropped about 100 minutes ago, just checked it now.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      ekam's Avatar
      ekam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: leamore
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router wired connection problem............

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Look in the Device Manager. Right click My Computer, select Properties then the Hardware Tab and click the Device Manager button. Are there any ! or ? red/yellow marks next to any of the items, possibly called Other hardware. Does it show the network card is properly installed?

      Sorry, my connection to the forum dropped about 100 minutes ago, just checked it now.
      i checked it and nothing is highlighted, i used the CD which came with my mobo, i clicked repiar on the driver, nothing changed, i then reinstalled the driver and still nothing, i guess i will have to get one 2moro then wont i?

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: router wired connection problem............

      Is there an entry in the Device Manager for the Network card. What is the make model?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      jarvust's Avatar
      jarvust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router wired connection problem............

      I had similar issue [disconnected network cable message].

      I fixed it by doing the following:

      1. Turned off Firewall
      2. Turned off Antivirus realtime protection
      3. Rebooted and checked connection . . . which then connected.

      If it does connect:

      1. Turn back on firewall
      2. Update antivirus, perform a quick antivirus scan then turn back on realtime antivirus protection.

      Just to be sure, reboot again to see if network reconnects again.

      I use Microsoft Security Essentials (including its firewall), and this proceedure worked for me after everything else had seemed to check out.

      Good Luck and let us know how it turns out.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION