Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Does it have to be a SKY router?

    This is a discussion on Does it have to be a SKY router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have a sky router - one of the original white ones - and I HATE it. I have another ...

    1. #1
      Lunakitkat's Avatar
      Lunakitkat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Does it have to be a SKY router?

      I have a sky router - one of the original white ones - and I HATE it. I have another router, and it's still a Netgear one, just a better version. I think it's the 'N' one...

      The guy at the store said it would work with Sky broadband, but I've just found out that it could be violating the terms and conditions of my contract with Sky...

      Is that true? Will it work if it's still a Netgear one? I've managed to get my username and password etc for it, and I'm sure it would WORK - but would it be legal?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Does it have to be a SKY router?

      It will work but ut wukk breach the Sky T&C's that you signed up too.

      Many people have and still are doing it though.

    4. #3
      edpeltor's Avatar
      edpeltor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01892
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does it have to be a SKY router?

      I've just bought one too? where did you get your id and password from please?

    5. #4
      edpeltor's Avatar
      edpeltor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01892
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does it have to be a SKY router?

      where did you get your id and password from please?

    6. #5
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Does it have to be a SKY router?


    7. #6
      Bufferz's Avatar
      Bufferz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Wallasey, Nr. Liverpool
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does it have to be a SKY router?

      Whilst it does breach the T&C's, would sky really come a knocking to check its the right router? I doubt it. All I would do is keep the original one also, then if they send you a letter saying why arent you using theirs, you can simply switch them back. ..I am looking at doing this as the 'G' router isnt powerful enough to cover the whole house, which is surely the point of wireless BB
      With SkyBB:


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION