Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Direct router connection.

    This is a discussion on Direct router connection. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi guys! New here just looking for some help... I'm trying to plug my router directly into my PC without ...

    1. #1
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Direct router connection.

      Hi guys!

      New here just looking for some help...

      I'm trying to plug my router directly into my PC without using the wireless.

      I've plugged the network cable from the port on the back of the router, into the socket of my pc... and nothing is happening.

      I've tried it on a laptop too and still nothing...


      Any ideas?

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      nathanjrb
      Hi if you have the disc just follow the instructions I think the wireless is an optional extra just in case you want to use wireless

    4. #3
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      Thanks Steve.

      I will have a look and see if I can find the CD!

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      Do any lights on the router change when you plug in the cable to the PC and are there any lights near the socket on the PC you are plugging in to? Also you may need to go to control panel, system, device manager (or right click "My Computer"/ "Computer" and choose manage) and check nothing has a yellow symbol or red cross on it. Sometimes if hardware is not used for a while people forget to check it's installed correctly, setup or enabled.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      When you say nothing is happening, what do you mean? What happens when you click the Internet Explorer icon on your desktop or quick launch bar? What is the error message?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      Ok guys!

      Thanks for your reply - I will go into a little more detail.

      Basically I live in a flat and the router is sat in a cupboard.

      Currently I am connected wirelessly using a wireless usb adapter on my pc.

      But I want to try connect directly to my router via cable.

      To do this I have to plug the cable into the wall in my room, and that cable goes directly to the router. However - the place was built in a hurry, so I'm not sure it was all wired properly.

      Anyway - I've plugged my pc into my wall socket, and then plugged the router into the cable in the cupboard that it is connected to.

      Now the the 'Port 1' light is flashing - but not crazily flashing like it's transferring data, more like a slow regular flash every few seconds.

      My PC doesn't seem to detect anything at all, it doesn't go 'Network cable plugged in' or anything =/

    8. #7
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      There is a green light on the back of my PC where the cable is plugged in - so the PC is working :/

    9. #8
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      OK. I think I'm getting somewhere now.

      The PC has found the connection - but it's only giving local access and not Internet. Both the IP4 and the IP6 settings are set to automatically detect settings.

    10. #9
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      Righttt..... now I'm getting:

      "error 815: remote server not responding"

      And beaneath that it says:

      This could be caused by an invalid value for the 'service name' field for this connection. Please contact ISP and inquire about the correct value for this field and update it in the connection properties.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      So you have a network cable built into your wall with a plug end to put into the router and a socket at the other end to connect your PC. At first sight it looks like the cable has been wire incorrectly.

      Temporarily take the router our of the cupboard and plug it into a power socket near your PC, Use the ethernet cable supplied by Sky to plug into your PC and the router. You do not have to be plugged into the phone line for this test. Now open a browser and type http://192.168.0.1 in the address bar, put admin in for the username and sky for the password. If you gain entrance to the router settings this means the built in cable you are using is not wired correctly.

      Put your router back in its position and reconnect to the phone line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION