Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Direct router connection.

    This is a discussion on Direct router connection. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I don't think it is wired incorrectly anymore as it has found the network, but only obtaining local access and ...

    1. #11
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      I don't think it is wired incorrectly anymore as it has found the network, but only obtaining local access and not internet?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      If it were properly wired you would not be getting that message. Chances are one wire is correct and the other is not. It will not take you long to connect as I suggest and make sure?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      I think that message came because I created a new connection while I was messing around - I've deleted it now as the message was coming up when I was trying to connect through something that didn't exist lol! The connection is still here, and the light by the port on the router is flashing quite fast now so there is definately data being transferred.

      I will try what you suggest though!

      Also in the connection details it says 'DHCP Enabled: No'

      Does that have something to do with it? In my router settings though it says DHCP is enabled?

    5. #14
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      Reply back with the results of these:

      start > all programs > accessories > right click command prompt and run as administrator > type 'ipconfig' and reply with the results for your local area connection.

      Also, reply with the results with these also:

      In the command prompt, type 'ping 192.168.0.1' and also ping 'google. com'

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      Also in the connection details it says 'DHCP Enabled: No'
      That is in your PC settings, it is only enabled when you are using Internet Connection Sharing, which you don't want to do. The router acts as the DHCP server.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Reply back with the results of these:

      start > all programs > accessories > right click command prompt and run as administrator > type 'ipconfig' and reply with the results for your local area connection.

      Also, reply with the results with these also:

      In the command prompt, type 'ping 192.168.0.1' and also ping 'google. com'
      I pinged 192.168.0.1 and got no reply "PING: Transmit failed, error code 1231"

    8. #17
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      OK guys, it DEFINATELY ISN'T the wiring. Plugged my mates laptop into the socket and it worked fine. So why won't mine? =/

      Could it be a firewall or something blocking it?

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      Start in Safe Mode with Networking and try to connect. This will rule out firewalls or any other software which may be stopping the connection.

      If you still cannot connect, go to the adaptor manufacturers site and download the latest drivers. Then go to the Device Manager, right click the adapter and select Uninstall. Right click an item on the list and select Scan for Hardware changes. The adaptor will be found, point it to the new drivers and install it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      nathanjrb's Avatar
      nathanjrb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Direct router connection.

      Thanks isitme, I will try that

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION