Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Changing IP address on a flashed router

    This is a discussion on Changing IP address on a flashed router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi guys, Did a search for ip address changes and found out you use the disconnect button and then the ...

    1. #1
      Mr Kennedy's Avatar
      Mr Kennedy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Changing IP address on a flashed router

      hi guys,

      Did a search for ip address changes and found out you use the disconnect button and then the sky test button.

      I flashed my sky router so can get to the extra features, but there would be no sky test button now.

      anyone know what i can do?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Changing IP address on a flashed router

      If you have the DG834GT then go to "connection status" and do a "release" and "renew". (I don't know about the other routers).

      Whilst I was on sky I was using James67's "Community Updates for the DG834GT" and that gave me all the extra features I needed whilst still keeping the Sky menus.

      See here.

      Of course if you don't have the V1 router it's of no use to you.

    4. #3
      Mr Kennedy's Avatar
      Mr Kennedy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing IP address on a flashed router

      I have the DG834GT but not those opitons. I have used DGteam to flash it and on connection status have 'connect' and disconnect'

    5. #4
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Changing IP address on a flashed router

      I actually wrote to "disconnect" and then "connect" but when I checked my router flashed with the latest netgear firmware the options were as above.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Changing IP address on a flashed router

      Normally switching the power off for a minute then back on again will get you a new IP address.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Mr Kennedy's Avatar
      Mr Kennedy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing IP address on a flashed router

      Thanks worked a treat.

      Will this also worked with the black router too

    8. #7
      Mr Kennedy's Avatar
      Mr Kennedy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing IP address on a flashed router

      Anyone know if this is the same method for the black router


      thanks

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Changing IP address on a flashed router

      Power cycling will give an address change in any router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION