Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    DG934G Remote Desktop port 3389 problem

    This is a discussion on DG934G Remote Desktop port 3389 problem within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; One other thing though, if someones able to help, does the Sky DG934G router I have support being a VPN ...

    1. #11
      cd993's Avatar
      cd993 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG934G Remote Desktop port 3389 problem

      One other thing though, if someones able to help, does the Sky DG934G router I have support being a VPN host? Have followed all the guides but whenever I try to connect an outside PC to this one, it returns an "Error 800"?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DG934G Remote Desktop port 3389 problem

      It is your PC that will be the host. The Sagem routers have problems with VNP, but the Netgears are OK. What VNP client are you using? I think if you are using the Windows 7 one you will have to use the same on the other PC. The same goes for any other client software of course. ie, if you have Nortel on one PC you will not be able to connect to Cisco on another machine.

      You must also ensure both PCs are on different subnets. If both have the same subnet ie, if the remote PC is also using 192.168.0.xxx they will not connect.

      I hope I am not trying to teach my granny how to suck eggs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      cd993's Avatar
      cd993 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG934G Remote Desktop port 3389 problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It is your PC that will be the host. The Sagem routers have problems with VNP, but the Netgears are OK. What VNP client are you using? I think if you are using the Windows 7 one you will have to use the same on the other PC. The same goes for any other client software of course. ie, if you have Nortel on one PC you will not be able to connect to Cisco on another machine.

      You must also ensure both PCs are on different subnets. If both have the same subnet ie, if the remote PC is also using 192.168.0.xxx they will not connect.

      I hope I am not trying to teach my granny how to suck eggs.
      haha nagh dont worry, i know what im doing to an extent but my knowledge in this area is fairly basic. I am tryin to connect my girlfriends window 7 pc to my windows 7 pc via a vpn set up (me being the hose) using the built in windows 7 vpn software.

      it is likely that we are indeed using the same subnets, would be easier for me to change mine and so how is this done in my router? Not at home right now but if you could be so kind as to guide me I can in your reply I can check it out as soon as I return, many thanks!

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DG934G Remote Desktop port 3389 problem

      It is easy enough to change but remember you will have to change any port settings or address reservations you have made to the new address. Just go into the router settings and in the LAN IP setting change the zeroes to ones, ie where your router address is 192.168.0.1 change to 192.168.1.1. The same with the server addresses. Remember to click apply.

      After doing this to gain access to the router you will have to type 192.168.1.1 in the address bar. When you make the change your PC may disconnect, if it does go to Start>Connect and click the connection.

      If everything goes wrong you can push in the reset button for a few seconds to wipe everything back to default. Just in case it does, before you do anything, go to the Backup Settings link in the router and save your present settings to the Desktop. If need be, you can use these to return you to how you are now, by using the Restore settings function..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION