Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Sagem router switching Computer on/off

    This is a discussion on Sagem router switching Computer on/off within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Recently I have been experiencing probs with my sagem router/Computer. I use it with a LAN ethernet connection, Everything is ...

    1. #1
      H652's Avatar
      H652 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Starbeck N Yorks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Harrogate
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Sagem router switching Computer on/off

      Recently I have been experiencing probs with my sagem router/Computer.
      I use it with a LAN ethernet connection, Everything is turned off at cease work. If I
      boot up my comp then switch on the router sometimes it connects,other times the comp restarts which seems to be controlled by the router, again sometimes its Ok others it locks up the comp but the router sets up OK.If I leave the router switched on when I boot the comp it gets so far then locks up, there seems no logic to all this .Any ideas please?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem router switching Computer on/off

      I take it the PC starts and runs OK when not connected to the router?

      Two things you can try, first is try another ethernet cable.

      Second, go to the network card manufacturers website and download the latest drivers. Uninstall the old drivers and install the new.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      H652's Avatar
      H652 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Starbeck N Yorks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Harrogate
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem router switching Computer on/off

      Thanks, Yes the Computer runs Fine on it's own,and everything works well when I eventually get it all working together. I will try the cable(are they different for seperate manufacturers?),but am not sure what a network card is. Is it The VIA Rhine 2 fast ethernet adaptor which shows as working Ok in System Properties.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem router switching Computer on/off

      Ethernet cables are generic, except that some are straight through and some cross over. You want the former.

      It looks like the drivers for your adapter are fairly old, so you probably have the latest ones. It would do no harm to reinstall anyway as they may have become corrupted. If you are using a P.B. get them here - Network - Via Rhine 2 Fast Ethernet Controller drivers - 7032610000 - Downloads - EasyNote E6 series - platform_Lynx_K8 - Notebook or preferably direct from the chip manufacturer here - VIA Drivers Download - VIA Technologies, Inc. For the Via site you will need to know the actual chipset, you can find this by downloading this application - |MG| EVEREST Free Edition 2.20 Download

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION