Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Broadband set up / Sky Router

    This is a discussion on Broadband set up / Sky Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have Sky TV and Unlimited Boradband, from a BT line. I have just moved house and now have the ...

    1. #1
      plodicus's Avatar
      plodicus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband set up / Sky Router

      I have Sky TV and Unlimited Boradband, from a BT line.

      I have just moved house and now have the luxury of a snug/office as well as a living room. Previously all my office & tech was in one room making things easy.

      I am a novice so need some help, my problem is this.

      My office/snug is the main room where i have my computer, 2nd sky box, xbox and house phone. The Sky Router (not sure which one at the moment) is therefore set up here and I have my pc and xbox wired to it. The BT phone line comes in here and in my living room. Each has a adsl splitter.

      In the office, the phone line is first split with one serving the phone, the other to a adsl splitter. The split signal plugs into the Sky box and into the Sky Router. From here I have wireless for the house and my pc and xbox are hard wired (ethernet cable).

      In the living room, the phone line comes in with a adsl spliiter . The phone line connects to the Sky+HD Box. My panasonic TV/Blu Ray have an internet connection option, to enable use of Viera services such as youtube, picasa etc and it is this which i am wanting to set up. The connection in to the TV is ethernet but that out of the splitter is not.

      Now before connecting in to the TV I presume i need another modem first, Correct??

      If so, will i need this from Sky? Will they provide me with one?

      Is there anyway I could connect my TV or Blu Ray wirelessly? If so what equipment would i need?

      What I am looking for is the most cost effective and straightforward solution (i know that both might not be achieveable). Bear in mind that I am, as you can probably tell, pretty ignorant!

      Any help would be much appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband set up / Sky Router

      no 2nd modem as it won't work. Setup should be:

      Master socket>filter>router on modem side, splitter to phone/Sky+ box on other side...
      Extension socket>filter>splitter/devices/etc...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband set up / Sky Router

      Is there anyway I could connect my TV or Blu Ray wirelessly? If so what equipment would i need?
      I don't think so. If you can't run ethernet cables back to the router, your best bet would be Homeplugs. - HomePlug AV | Broadbandbuyer.co.uk

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      plodicus's Avatar
      plodicus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband set up / Sky Router

      Thanks for the help.

      The homeplugs look like the best solution....never knew of these before. Way better than laying 25m of cable along skirting, doors etc even if they are more expensive.

    6. #5
      cyril's Avatar
      cyril is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glantawe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      upper swansea valley
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband set up / Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by plodicus View Post
      Thanks for the help.

      The homeplugs look like the best solution....never knew of these before. Way better than laying 25m of cable along skirting, doors etc even if they are more expensive.
      me neither?was going down the route of cables everywhere,which was the only way i thought????

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband set up / Sky Router

      For most homes, Homeplugs are a far better and safer solution than wireless. There are some houses with non-standard wiring where they will not work too well, but these are few and far between.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION