Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Turning off firewall on Sagem router?

    This is a discussion on Turning off firewall on Sagem router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by Isitme Looking at this - Buffalo Web Access Quickstart you don't need to open any ports, if ...

    1. #11
      Agent_Trig's Avatar
      Agent_Trig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turning off firewall on Sagem router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Looking at this - Buffalo Web Access Quickstart you don't need to open any ports, if you have UPnP enabled. What happens when you try to use this?

      No matter what system you use you really need to use a DynamicDNS. If you don't, a change in your IP address, which can happen at any time, will stop your connection.
      I have had UPnP enabled on my router and there is also a check-box for this within the LinkStation's Web Access settings, but when I check it and click apply, I get an error message shortly after and it defaults back to unchecked (this is within the NAS settings) - I can try this again when I am at home later and post back the exact error message if that helps?

      The exact model number for my Buffalo LinkStation Pro drive is LS-XH1.0TL

      What is a DynamicDNS? And how do I set that up as I have noticed that my external IP address has been changing everynow and then.

      Thanks for looking into this guys - much appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Turning off firewall on Sagem router?

      Have a look here for DDNS - DynDNS.com - Services -- Dynamic DNS Free (DDNS) Service it is free

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Agent_Trig's Avatar
      Agent_Trig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turning off firewall on Sagem router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Have a look here for DDNS - DynDNS.com - Services -- Dynamic DNS Free (DDNS) Service it is free
      Thanks for that, I'll take a look at it. How does this stop my external IP address from changing?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Turning off firewall on Sagem router?

      It does not stop it from changing. It tracks when it is changed and makes the necessary changes to your address. This is how it works - DynDNS.com - Support -- Knowledge Base -- How Dynamic DNS (DDNS) Works

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION