Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31

    I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

    This is a discussion on I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Now on Sky... both routers sync at 4101kbps (used to be 7104 on both previous ISPs)... worth ringing them up ...

    1. #21
      Expat's Avatar
      Expat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Camborne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

      Now on Sky... both routers sync at 4101kbps (used to be 7104 on both previous ISPs)... worth ringing them up about so soon? I've heard ADSL2+ doesn't have a training/attenuation phase like ADSL... is this true?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

      You should have been advised that Sky's DLM will run on your line for 10 days. The start speed for Unlimited is 4096kbps, this will increase to your maximum available over the training period. Training may start anytime between 0 - 4 days after activation. Do not unplug or power down your router during this period.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      Expat's Avatar
      Expat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Camborne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

      Oh balls - didn't realize that! I'm on the phone to them now - hah!

      But he's telling me it'll "go back up to the speed you had" - I should be on ADSL2+ now, not ADSL - I estimate with my distance from the exchange and SNR, I should be getting between 16-18mbit, I'm just going to confirm that it's ADSL2+ I'm on now, as it's enabled at the exchange (according to SamKnows)...

      I've already unplugged the router 4 times in the first hour, I hope that doesn't count on the DLM as I was switching between my Netgear and the Sagem kackbox. Oh well, we'll see I suppose.... thanks again Isitme!

      Edit: The man says my line will take around 14mbit after 10 days. Close enough!
      Last edited by Expat; 10-02-10 at 05:02 PM.

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

      I'm just going to confirm that it's ADSL2+ I'm on now, as it's enabled at the exchange (according to SamKnows)...
      What it says at the exchange does not matter, all Sky LLU connections use ADSL2+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

      should've read the welcome letter - mentions DLM
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #26
      Expat's Avatar
      Expat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Camborne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

      Brilliant. I was just changing the router IP back to 192.168.0.1 (as I had it on .128 to play around with it), ready to configure my DCHP server and everything... it's rebooted (the last reboot until the attenuation's over hopefully) and it's doing the whole timeout on login thing again. Great. Bloody marvelous. Sigh.

    8. #27
      Expat's Avatar
      Expat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Camborne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9196 kbps 921 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.0 db 19.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 10.0 db

      How's this?

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

      With your attenuation/noise margin you will not get a lot more. Have you tried the Test socket or do you use a filtered faceplate?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      Expat's Avatar
      Expat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Camborne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      With your attenuation/noise margin you will not get a lot more. Have you tried the Test socket or do you use a filtered faceplate?
      Yes, I use a BT installed "ADSL V1.0" NTE5 faceplate on my mastersocket. Engineer said 12.5mbit, but my money's still on 14-16mbit. I'm only 1.5 metric miles away from the exchange as the bird flies, and it's practically a straight line so I would imagine the actual cable length is only around 2km at max.

      I suppose, thinking about it, if I didn't use my phone line at all I should probably have the router plugged directly into the test socket for 10 days to get the maximum possible speed... Ahh well, if I'm not happy with my final speed I'll do that (set up a divert to my mobile) and give Sky a bell to run the DLM again.

      Eager to see what my line finally stabilizes at!

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've just migrated from Virgin and I think my Sagem is dead.

      Engineer said 12.5mbit,
      But what did Sky say? From experience I can tell you that you will need an exceptionally good line to get 14-16 Mb with an attenuation of 37dbs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION