Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

    This is a discussion on Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Oh really? Nice one - I wasn't in yesterday when it was meant to start, so that's good news. I ...

    1. #11
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

      Oh really? Nice one - I wasn't in yesterday when it was meant to start, so that's good news. I heard rumours that if it comes in then we're allowed to give out dsl username and passwords to customers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

      we're allowed to give out dsl username and passwords to customers.
      If true, that would be a great step forward. Anyone who wanted to use their own router could call up, say their out of warranty Sky router was knackered and get their details without fear of being cut off.

      It would require a change in the T & Cs before it was implemented.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      trjp's Avatar
      trjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

      Without any knowledge of this I called Sky yesterday (26th) to report that 2 of the 4 network ports on my DG834GT were knackered.

      They said as it was out-of-warranty (well over 2 years old) I'd have to pay 30 for a new router.

      Thinking that I could just buy a switch I decided to skip it - looks like it MIGHT be worth calling up again???

      I'm wondering what I'll get tho - I like this router, it's hung onto many a noisy line in the time I've had it but I suspect it's wireless is a bit dodgy too now (drops signal from time to time)

      Decisions Decisions - a big part of me just fancies a nice shiny gigabit/wireless-N router and sod the 'use only our hardware' thing...

    5. #14
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

      Quote Originally Posted by trjp View Post
      Without any knowledge of this I called Sky yesterday (26th) to report that 2 of the 4 network ports on my DG834GT were knackered.

      They said as it was out-of-warranty (well over 2 years old) I'd have to pay 30 for a new router.

      Thinking that I could just buy a switch I decided to skip it - looks like it MIGHT be worth calling up again???

      I'm wondering what I'll get tho - I like this router, it's hung onto many a noisy line in the time I've had it but I suspect it's wireless is a bit dodgy too now (drops signal from time to time)

      Decisions Decisions - a big part of me just fancies a nice shiny gigabit/wireless-N router and sod the 'use only our hardware' thing...
      OOW router charges WILL come into effect, but it has been postponed as of now. I'd advise getting yourself onto the phone and getting one sent out for free. I would say if you get through to someone advising there would be a charge, then decline, hang up and get through to someone who has the capacity to respond to briefings.

    6. #15
      trjp's Avatar
      trjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

      I know this is slightly OT here - but what are they sending out atm - anyone know?

      The DG9xx a friend got last year has appalling wireless coverage and the Sagem has a reputation for not holding connections as well - hmmmm, not that I have much choice really

      I assume the new router will invalidate the old one/they'll ask for it back?

    7. #16
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

      YMMV but I spoke to a chap who got a new router yesturday and he got a Sagem.
      if you have a 834GT allready i would stick with tbh.

    8. #17
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

      ive got a dg934g flashed for o2 broadband and ive seen no problems

    9. #18
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

      If mine broke I'd replace it with a wireless N gigabit modem/router and break the T&Cs.

      100Mbit ports and wireless G is way too dated these days for an internal home network.

      I also want to see gigabit home plugs. No point in buying the 200Mbit ones as the lan ports are only 100Mbit so it slows down as soon as it hits the port.

      I wonder if the new Sky+HD 1TB box is 100Mbit or gigabit on it?

    10. #19
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

      Gigabit homeplugs are out red

      Belkin Powerline 1Gbps Networking 1000Mbps 2 Adapters: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo

      no idea if they are any good but we now already have them.

      I would assume that the new HD boxes will have the 10/100 card on them but you never know and Sky may have forced the issue.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    11. #20
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Sky to charge for Out Of Warranty Routers

      as cool, but what I really want is a homeplug with 4 ports on it to save having to have a switch as well (ie a gigabit version of 85 MBPS POWERLINE ETHERNET SWITCH KIT XEB1004)

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION