Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Adding a second wireless router to home network

    This is a discussion on Adding a second wireless router to home network within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I have the Netgear wireless router (can't remember exactly which model) and I'd like to extend my network to ...

    1. #1
      neil101's Avatar
      neil101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Adding a second wireless router to home network

      Hi,

      I have the Netgear wireless router (can't remember exactly which model) and I'd like to extend my network to allow access from my blu-ray player and a Slingbox I'm planning on buying. However, the Slingbox and blu-ray are in a different room to the router and thus plugging them in via ethernet isn't an option.

      Is it possible to add another wireless router to the network, which would in effect act as a hub for the blu-ray and Slingbox to connect to? I'm not sure how the DHCP client in the main router would handle assigning IP addresses to the items plugged into the second router.

      I'm open to any ideas if this isn't possible.

      Many thanks in advance.

      Neil


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Adding a second wireless router to home network

      Only if you connect the two routers by a wire.


      The best and easiest way would be to use homeplugs, much better than wireless and no need to run in ethernet cables.

    4. #3
      neil101's Avatar
      neil101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adding a second wireless router to home network

      Many thanks for the quick reply.

      I'm presuming you mean plug the 2nd router into a homeplug and then have the other homeplug plug into the main router via ethernet?

      Thanks again

    5. #4
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adding a second wireless router to home network

      if you were getting homeplugs you might as well just get them for the devices you want to connect to the internet rather than adding a second router. if you just want to extend the wireless network maybe look into a wireless signal booster, i've never tried one but i believe if you have it connected to an electrical socket halfway between the devices you want to connect wirelessy and your router it will take in the wireless signal giving you greater coverage

    6. #5
      neil101's Avatar
      neil101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adding a second wireless router to home network

      Thanks for that. I think I might get the homeplug and just have it plugged in behind the TV - I can't really see a situation where I'm wanting to use the slingbox and the Blu-Ray at the same time, so one network port in that part of the house should do.

    7. #6
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Adding a second wireless router to home network

      you can add a network switch behind the TV, connect the homeplug into the switch and you have enough sockets for both devices and some spare.

      A switch only costs a tenner,
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Adding a second wireless router to home network

      ^^^^ What he said.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Adding a second wireless router to home network

      If you don't want too many wires and power connectors behind you TV, you might consider one of these, which has a built in switch.
      VESENET SOLWISE 85Mbps HOMEPLUG 3-port ADAPTER PLUG-IN on eBay (end time 27-Jan-10 01:25:53 GMT)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      harveyvan's Avatar
      harveyvan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adding a second wireless router to home network

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Only if you connect the two routers by a wire.

      The best and easiest way would be to use homeplugs, much better than wireless and no need to run in ethernet cables.
      Hope it's OK to piggy-back a question here....

      I've recently switched from cable, and was using a Belkin cable/DSL wireless router that was plugged into the cable modem; it gave a pretty good signal. When I switched, I had to put the Sky modem/router (Sagem) downstairs, so I connected our two desktops using homeplugs; that bit works fine.

      I still want the wireless signal, though -- access to a laptop and a smartphone -- and the Sagem seems very weak; limited range.

      I take it from your answer that I could add the Belkin router to the Sagem by ethernet -- is that likely to give me a better wireless signal, or am I asking for trouble having two wireless routers side by side? (Would I have to disable the wireless signal from the Sagem, for example?)

      Advice appreciated.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Adding a second wireless router to home network

      You can do this quite easily. If they are close together the Sagem wireless should be disabled.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION