Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    New Router - Advice Please

    This is a discussion on New Router - Advice Please within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Just over a week ago my trusty Netgear 834 V1 died. After some discussion, I convinced Sky it was dead ...

    1. #1
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      219
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Router - Advice Please

      Just over a week ago my trusty Netgear 834 V1 died.

      After some discussion, I convinced Sky it was dead and they agreed to send out a new one.

      Then the bad weather hit which meant two things

      (i) I couldn't get into work. I had three choices, work over the VPN, take annual leave or take unpaid leave.

      (ii) Parcel Couriers weren't deliverying to my house.


      Because I didn't want to lose holiday or pay I got the original router fixed. Turned out to be an easy job - a few leaking electrolytic capacitors.

      BUT .... the replacement has turned up today and it is a Sagem.

      My intention was to keep the new one and return the old but on powering it up, I find it isn't as good.

      Wireless
      ======
      Wireless coverage is poor in my house. I have tried everything to resolve this but no go. I was hoping it was to do with the router and a new make and model would improve things. WRONG - it's even worse. Where I would get a poor connection with the Netgear I get nothing with the Sagem.

      WAN
      ====
      My Netgear syncs at 6136, but the Sagem syncs at 5814. The Sagem also repeatedly reports a lower SNR than the Netgear for the same time period. Sometimes as much as 1dB lower. When I first connected the Sagem it was running at 6.3dB - I've never seen the Netgear as low as that. Browsing using the Sagem was pretty sluggish but that is hardly surprising. After a few more reboots the Sagem was reporting more or less the same.

      So I have a few of questions

      (1) - Is Sagem wireless known to be poor. It is on the default of 'AUTO' at the moment. Is it better to run it on a specific channel?

      (2) - Is line training specific to a Modem? Trying to understand why the Sagem syncs at 300Kbps less even when the attenuation and SNR is the same?

      (3) - I'm tempted to keep the Netgear and return the Sagem. What would you do?

      Cheers,

      Nigel


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Router - Advice Please

      I would keep the sagem and return the netgear. Noise margin reporting can be differant between routers and is not in itself a problem. a speed differance of 300k is not that much (I would say that as I sync at 19meg and you may take a differant view)
      Whatever you choose to do, run the pass word generator on this site to get your username and password so that you are not stuck again and can use any router you like even thro this is against SkyT&C's. A bit of insurance.

      Wireless works better if you select a channel, start at 13 and see how you go
      Last edited by Brian69; 11-01-10 at 06:20 PM.

    4. #3
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      219
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router - Advice Please

      Cheers,

      I will give the Sagem a little more time before deciding but I suspect I will send back the Netgear.

      I have the username and passwords for both. Haven't the generators made things easy. When I got my Netgear info all those years ago I had to use injection scripts.

      Cheers,

      Nigel

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Router - Advice Please

      Always change the Sagems away from the Auto channel - try the same you've got on the Netgear and work from there...also bare in mind the v1 Sky Netgear is 108Mbps whereas the v2 Netgear and Sagem are 54Mbps (not that it matters as that's only around your internal network)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      219
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router - Advice Please

      also bare in mind the v1 Sky Netgear is 108Mbps
      Thanks - I knew the Netgear was 108Mbps so naturally assumed the replacements were.

      Still, our laptops don't have G adapters so they only connect at 54Mbps anyway. But I was going to try a G adapter to see if it improves the wireless coverage in my house.

      Cheers,

      Nigel

    7. #6
      boff's Avatar
      boff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router - Advice Please

      hm...interesting...

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION