Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 60k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Wpa pass phrase

    This is a discussion on Wpa pass phrase within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I am trying to set up my son's xBox live and need my wpa pass phrase. I have contacted sky ...

    1. #1
      7Fulham's Avatar
      7Fulham is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01993
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wpa pass phrase

      I am trying to set up my son's xBox live and need my wpa pass phrase.

      I have contacted sky help who suggested 192.168.1.0 and then username:admin and password :sky- this comes back as invalid.I have not heard back from them.

      I have also tried 192.168.1.1, and 192.168.11.1

      None of these help.

      Does anyone know how I can get my wpa pass phrase before Christmas is completely ruined

      7fulham


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The_Batman's Avatar
      The_Batman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wpa pass phrase

      Quote Originally Posted by 7Fulham View Post
      I am trying to set up my son's xBox live and need my wpa pass phrase.

      I have contacted sky help who suggested 192.168.1.0 and then username:admin and password :sky- this comes back as invalid.I have not heard back from them.

      I have also tried 192.168.1.1, and 192.168.11.1

      None of these help.

      Does anyone know how I can get my wpa pass phrase before Christmas is completely ruined

      7fulham
      try 192.168.0.1

      username: admin password: sky

      once in that look for setup, and then wireless settings. Look towards the bottom of the page.

      I would imagine that if you have not changed these settings before than your security password would still be the same wpa -psk password located at the back of the router

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,193
      Thanks
      107
      Thanked 365 Times in 299 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Wpa pass phrase

      The WPA passphrase should be on the sticker on the underneath of your Sky router, as well as the card that came with the router.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      7Fulham's Avatar
      7Fulham is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01993
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wpa pass phrase

      The only things that came were SSID, network keyand channel.

    6. #5
      7Fulham's Avatar
      7Fulham is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01993
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wpa pass phrase

      Tried that and I get invalid password or username.

      The sticker on the router only gives me SSID, network key and channel.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,193
      Thanks
      107
      Thanked 365 Times in 299 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Wpa pass phrase

      The network key should be the same as the passphrase in your Sky router, unless you have changed it.

      Or make one up and change it in the router.

      Although it's not the same router, the procedure is pretty much the same.

      Configure your Sky Netgear Router's Wireless Settings

      Are you using the Sky router or not?


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      31,374
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 1,450 Times in 1,422 Posts

      Re: Wpa pass phrase

      Your profile says you are using a non-Sky router, this is where you will have to get the passphrase from. Many do not come with a passphrase and have wireless switched off by default . Likewise, the IP address and user details will be different. You would have to look at the user manual for details on how to set up a wireless connection. This is the reason Sky supply routers ready set up right out of the box, it makes it much easier to get connected..

    9. #8
      gillymunch's Avatar
      gillymunch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wpa pass phrase

      Sorry for stating the obvious, but this has tripped up a couple of my friends so just thought i'd mention it. If it is the sky router, the pass phrase (network key) printed on the back of the router seems to always be in capitals, so you have to type it in capitals, it might just be that.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2012. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO