Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    streaming

    This is a discussion on streaming within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; when I am streaming on the Internet the network keeps going down randomly and I loose the PC that I ...

    1. #1
      ricky rodgers's Avatar
      ricky rodgers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Finmere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      bucks
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      streaming



      when I am streaming on the Internet the network keeps going down randomly and I loose the PC that I am streaming to I am using all Ethernet no wireles to the hub
      tech support said something about the router trying to change the ip address ????
      please con U help me
      the router is the net gear dg934g.
      Richard.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ricky rodgers's Avatar
      ricky rodgers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Finmere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      bucks
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: streaming

      ok not a good description when I stream I get cut of and I have to reconnect to the sever please help
      also my stats are
      connection speed up 288kbps
      down 576kbps
      line attenuation up 31db
      down 61db
      noise up 20db
      down 16db
      is that good ????????

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: streaming

      In a word No. In fact they are terrible, no wonder you cannot stream. Plug into your Test socket, link below, and post your stats from there.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      ricky rodgers's Avatar
      ricky rodgers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Finmere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      bucks
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: streaming

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 576 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 17 db 20 db
      this is from the nte5 front plate off just the pc on

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: streaming

      There is not enough difference to bother about, so phone Sky and ask them to lift the cap on your connection. If Tier 1 refuse, tell them you want passed to CST as you are not satisfied. Your noise margin shows you are quite heavily capped, you should get 3.5Mb. If they still refuse, hang up and call back in the hope you get a better agent.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      ricky rodgers's Avatar
      ricky rodgers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Finmere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      bucks
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: streaming

      Thanks TomD phoned sky and I got a quote of bt and told them so I hope it is sorted asp again thanks and merry Xmas
      Ricky R

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: streaming

      Are you on Connect? I did not notice you had that in your profile and your stats don't look like Connect stats.

      What is the quote from BT for?

      A quick search shows Oxted has no Sky so you must be on Connect. My advice now is to ask for your MAC and go to O2, who are enabled in your exchange.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      ricky rodgers's Avatar
      ricky rodgers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Finmere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      bucks
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: streaming

      hi tom my exchange is Finmere off buckingham
      i rang bt and they said i can get 1.5mb off the exchange i then told sky sort it or i will go to bt now sky blame bt for the wrong pack but will sort by monday lol
      ricky

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: streaming

      If you are as you say on Sky Connect, they will sort nothing, the package is beyond it's limit and way over capacity especially at peak times (5pm - midnight). Your only option is to move ISP's.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: streaming

      Unfortunately, Finmere is not enabled by any ISP and it is so small it is unlikely ever to be. You have spelt it wrong in your profile, by the way. It looks like you may have been put on the Home 500 package, hopefully BT will get it sorted out.

      As Smithy says the Connect package is severely throttled between about 5 and 12, so if you want a usable connection in this period, you would be better looking around for another ISP.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION