Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Fao of all users looking to use vpn

    This is a discussion on Fao of all users looking to use vpn within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; got informed a couple of weeks ago but been busy with other stuff. We will now be sending an update ...

    1. #1
      The_Batman's Avatar
      The_Batman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fao of all users looking to use vpn

      got informed a couple of weeks ago but been busy with other stuff. We will now be sending an update down the line for any customer wanting to use vpn on the sky routers. This update will take around a week to get to your box


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Fao of all users looking to use vpn

      You did mention it Working from home on Sky broadband

      I wonder if anyone has tried. Probably be met by a blank stare from T1, you will not be able to see it of course.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      garycat's Avatar
      garycat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fao of all users looking to use vpn

      What is (was) the issue with VPN?

      I successfully used Juniper Network Connect 6.3.0 to VPN to my workspace at the weekend.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Fao of all users looking to use vpn

      What is (was) the issue with VPN?
      It depends on the VPN client used, some will just not work with the existing firmware. What I don't understand is that if Sky have updated firmware, why don't they release it to all? Why force users (at their own expense*) to go through Tier1 agents, many off whom will not even know what firmware is?

      *Not all are on Sky Talk.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      The_Batman's Avatar
      The_Batman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fao of all users looking to use vpn

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You did mention it Working from home on Sky broadband

      I wonder if anyone has tried. Probably be met by a blank stare from T1, you will not be able to see it of course.

      to be honest i agree with you

    7. #6
      Scoot's Avatar
      Scoot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01342
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fao of all users looking to use vpn

      Hi, I've had loads of problems with getting a Nortel VPN client to work. The DisableIkePort500Use registry hack was working OK but that now too has mysteriously stopped working.

      The good news is I just called Sky Broadband support and spoke to the tier 1 support guy. Initially he said he couldn't help with VPN problems and said I should talk to my network administrator. However, I told him that I was aware that the Sagem was incompatible with Nortel and that I knew there was a firmware upgrade.

      He agreed to check his technical bulletins and then came back and said there was indeed an upgrade specifically for those of us that use Nortel. Apparently the bulletin came out a couple of days ago. He was very helpful and has scheduled my firmware to be pushed to my router on Wednesday 23rd Dec.

      Thanks for the heads up Batman. Without the inside information I wouldn't have got anywhere!!

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Fao of all users looking to use vpn

      Thanks for the heads up Batman. Without the inside information I wouldn't have got anywhere!!
      Maybe you should click his 'Say Thank You' button as a token of your appreciation, that's what it's there for

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      The_Batman's Avatar
      The_Batman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fao of all users looking to use vpn

      Quote Originally Posted by Scoot View Post
      Hi, I've had loads of problems with getting a Nortel VPN client to work. The DisableIkePort500Use registry hack was working OK but that now too has mysteriously stopped working.

      The good news is I just called Sky Broadband support and spoke to the tier 1 support guy. Initially he said he couldn't help with VPN problems and said I should talk to my network administrator. However, I told him that I was aware that the Sagem was incompatible with Nortel and that I knew there was a firmware upgrade.

      He agreed to check his technical bulletins and then came back and said there was indeed an upgrade specifically for those of us that use Nortel. Apparently the bulletin came out a couple of days ago. He was very helpful and has scheduled my firmware to be pushed to my router on Wednesday 23rd Dec.

      Thanks for the heads up Batman. Without the inside information I wouldn't have got anywhere!!
      no probz, glad i could be of some help

    10. #9
      Scoot's Avatar
      Scoot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01342
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fao of all users looking to use vpn

      Batman, thank you button has been deservedly pressed. :-)

      The day of my firmware upgrade has come and gone and there is no upgrade, I'm still on 1.9Sky. When I originally spoke to the Sky support guy, he told me to wait until the scheduled date and then hold down the reset button on the router for a minimum of 15 seconds. Well I've done this and all it does is put the box back to factory default. Does anyone know how to force a firmware upgrade that has been scheduled for my box?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Fao of all users looking to use vpn

      You can't really force an upgrade, all you can do is re-boot the router to force a reconnection with the exchange. It is better to do this by pulling the power plug out for a couple of minutes then put it back in. Remember this type of upgrade might not change the Version number, did you try your VPN?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION