Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Router reset

    This is a discussion on Router reset within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Over the past six months the router has reset, i.e. gone back to the “factory settings”, three times! That is, ...

    1. #1
      nick73's Avatar
      nick73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Neston
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router reset

      Over the past six months the router has reset, i.e. gone back to the “factory settings”, three times!
      That is, the password has reset to “admin and sky” and the wireless laptops we have connected to the router have had to be re-entered into the “Wireless Station Access List” and a new WEP key put on them.
      At first looking on the logs, it seemed that when sky connected (updated) with the router it reset back to factory settings.
      Looking at the logs this time they show a date of 2002, then 2009 when I logged on?

      Anyone else having this problem?
      The router is on 24/7 and has a UPS between it and the mains?

      Edit, just had to restore from backup after getting this" Sat, 2009-12-05 16:33:46 - Receive NTP Reply from ntp1.isp.sky.com"
      Guess I'm ringing sky.
      Anyone have a number other than the 0844?

      I am not sure why you posted this in the SkyHD+ section, I have moved it to a more appropriate one.
      Last edited by Isitme; 06-12-09 at 05:35 PM. Reason: Moved post


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Azasmith's Avatar
      Azasmith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrowden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Wellingborough, UK
      Posts
      292
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wireless reset?

      On your Sky HD box, go to TV Guide, then... Wait, what?

      SAYNOTO0870.COM - Non-Geographical Alternative Telephone Numbers

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router reset

      " Sat, 2009-12-05 16:33:46 - Receive NTP Reply from ntp1.isp.sky.com"
      This is the router receiving a time check from the Sky servers. I don't see how it could reset the router.

      Let us know what Sky say.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      nick73's Avatar
      nick73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Neston
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset

      Rang sky this morning (about 07.00). They couldn't understand it. I was to early for Tier 2 so they said they would ring back.
      Still waiting........................

    6. #5
      nick73's Avatar
      nick73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Neston
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset

      Before the " Sat, 2009-12-05 16:33:46 - Receive NTP Reply from ntp1.isp.sky.com" the log is dated 2002?
      Guess that was when the original software was imbeded!

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router reset

      Guess that was when the original software was imbeded!
      Yes it is similar to when the battery in your motherboard goes flat. The date goes back to the original bios date. I would not hold my breathe waiting on a call back from Tier 1.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      nick73's Avatar
      nick73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Neston
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset

      No callback. What's next?
      Doing a search this seems to have happened on the netgar router before in 2008 (Netgear Router 'Wireless' Reset Itself?)
      Another 15 minute wait on the 0844, or an email to support?
      Isitme, you replied to the OP.

    9. #8
      nick73's Avatar
      nick73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Neston
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset

      New router appeared yesterday!
      Nice one SKY. (could have told me!)

    10. #9
      micksea173's Avatar
      micksea173 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Seaham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      in a house
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reset

      It sounds like this has happened to me as well, but in my case tonight have just noticed that it had totally disabled the security and also the SSID wasn't ticked and the wireless access point was disabled as well. Luckly I have a firewall and antivirus on my machine so hopefully nothing has been comparmised on my machine.

      I just phoned Sky Technical Support up about this problem and basically I don't feel happy using this router incase it does this again and I asked for my user name and password and Sky refused me it and they said that it was setup by Netgear which I don't think so. Also according to Sky's technical support the router that sky use are not locked until I said that would mean that I would be able to input an user name and password if it was not locked and she then said that it was inputted by a key that Sky have.

      What do you think?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router reset

      Have a look at this section -
      Extracting Sky Router passwords

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION