Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Help configuring new ADSL router

    This is a discussion on Help configuring new ADSL router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; If this is the incorrect section then please move it to the right section of the forum. My brother purchased ...

    1. #1
      Kudoss's Avatar
      Kudoss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help configuring new ADSL router

      If this is the incorrect section then please move it to the right section of the forum.

      My brother purchased a new ADSL router and he wanted to change this over to the new router, because the one SKY provides is well basically c*** I found a website which is supposed to get the ADSL username and password from the router which is embedded into the router (which I personally find inane.)

      Easiest way to access the router if you cannot remember the 192.168.0.1 is http://routerlogin.net or just routerlogin.net and then enter Username: admin Password: sky.

      I used https://www.cm9.net/skypass/generate.cgi But first of all I needed the MAC Addy of the router so I used MS-DOS instead as this is a more accurate way to get the MAC Addy.

      1. Type into the Run Command Windows CMD and then Press OK
      2. You will now be presented with an MS-DOS window
      3. At command Prompt C:\Users\YOUR_PCNAME> Type in the following command

      arp -a 192.168.0.1 then Press [Enter]

      4. It should display the following Command Line

      Interface: 192.168.0.XX --- 0xb
      Interface Address Physical Address Type
      192.168.0.1 00-xx-xx-xx-xx-xx Dynamic

      C:\Users\YOUR_PCNAME>

      I eneterd the MAC Addy and it came up the the PPPoA username and password which I assumed is correct, although when it get to the final stages of making a connection to the internet it comes back with a message stating “You ISP did not recognise your settings” or something like this, although or the settings from what my brother has told me are correct.

      These are fictional MAC Addresses & Password
      Username: 0024BC58DDEE@skydsl
      Password: DDAAFFXXDC

      We get to the final stages and ISP did not recognise your settings. Where are we going wrong, bearing in mind I have not setup an ADSL router for probably? What 8 years and I think I might be doing something wrong or the link I have provided is utter bo****s and the only true way is to back up the config file, reset the router for 3-4 seconds then run the recovery utility… access the router again backup the config file again and then open up in word pad and there will be the username and password.

      Can somebody confirm where we are going wrong please?

      His ADSL router is the DG834GT and he has bought a Belkin Wireless N F5D8235uk4
      Last edited by Kudoss; 30-11-09 at 10:11 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Help configuring new ADSL router

      Have a read of this and see if it helps.

      Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Kudoss's Avatar
      Kudoss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help configuring new ADSL router

      To be honest my knowledge of ADSL is limited to say the least, when it comes to cable modems I am a god... My ADSL knowledge is a little bit lame. Well limp really. I know this is going to sound like a really inane question to ask, it does not matter which ADSL router you connect does it? He went out and purchased a Belkin Wireless N which is a good router.

      I talked him through eveything on the phone and I think we might have missed out multiplexing which if my memory serves me correctly is quite important. If this was left out it could have caused it not to connect to the internet? Because it got right to 99% and then it came back with a message could not establish a connect to your ISP.
      Last edited by Kudoss; 30-11-09 at 10:42 PM. Reason: Oops

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Help configuring new ADSL router

      Are there any other settings that I'll need in my non-Sky router other than the ADSL user name and password?

      Yes:
      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI/VCI: 0/38
      Multiplexing: VC

      Along with the username and password from the site you linked to. Then it should be good to go.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Kudoss's Avatar
      Kudoss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help configuring new ADSL router

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Are there any other settings that I'll need in my non-Sky router other than the ADSL user name and password?

      Yes:
      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI/VCI: 0/38
      Multiplexing: VC

      Along with the username and password from the site you linked to. Then it should be good to go.
      No it will not connect to the internet it get as far as 99% then it says could not establish a connection to your ISP which is really odd because from experience I now the MAC Addy is correct because arp -a 192.168.0.1 will come back with the MAC Addy of the router which is correct. I don't think we set up Multiplexing to VC to be honest. Talking through a none technical person overthe phone is bad enough... but I am 99.9% sure we did not set up the MPlex to VC what affect would this have if it was not selcted?

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Help configuring new ADSL router

      I don't think we set up Multiplexing to VC to be honest.
      I think although I could be wrong, this would cause the problem you are having.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Kudoss's Avatar
      Kudoss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help configuring new ADSL router

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I think although I could be wrong, this would cause the problem you are having.
      Same here, To your knowledge do you think that link I found is a valid one to get the ADSL username and password which SKY kindly remove from the menu. It must be correct because he would have not as far as he did if the username and password was incorrect. Because he said he never go this far before?

      It'sa little frustrating doing it over the phone and he lives a 4hr drive from where I live which is a pain in the backside because I could do this if I was in front of the router.

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Help configuring new ADSL router

      Yep, the website was made by one of our members.

      Getting your V1 and V2 router passwords - the safe way

      Can you not ring him to change it himself and just talk him through, it will either work or won't and save a 4 hour journey.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Kudoss's Avatar
      Kudoss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help configuring new ADSL router

      Thanks for the help anyway you deserve a beer

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Help configuring new ADSL router

      I have in front of me a bottle of red wine so I am fine for beer at the moment.

      Hope you get it sorted out.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION