Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Impossibly Large Noise Margin

    This is a discussion on Impossibly Large Noise Margin within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi. i'm not very technical with the whole router statistics page (as in i don't know exactly what noise margin ...

    1. #1
      Moooaaannn's Avatar
      Moooaaannn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Impossibly Large Noise Margin

      hi. i'm not very technical with the whole router statistics page (as in i don't know exactly what noise margin is etc) but i know a fair amount. i've been told, and seen on these forums, that people get the best results for speed etc at around 6-7db Noise Margin. when mine is around those figures, the internet runs fine at around 4-4.5mb/s. however, occasionally, the noise margin will jump suddenly to over 2 billion and i won't be able to load any web pages up or anything. after a couple of minutes it usually goes back to 5 or 6db etc.

      anyone have any idea what this is about? i've had loads of previous issues with routers (on my third now) and this one is only about a month old. have reset it a few times and took everything out for 30 seconds blah blah but still this impossibly large noise margin thing still occurs. at a complete loss!

      i'll try and post the stats next time it does it to show you how weird this is.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Impossibly Large Noise Margin

      When your SNR margin shows a figure as high as you suggest, indicates that that the SNR margin has dropped so low that the router can not display it, Hence the high figure you mention.
      This points to severe noise on your line.
      Please post your router stats and also a description of you phone socket and wire set up.

      You might find reading here useful
      Last edited by joss; 19-11-09 at 12:57 PM. Reason: added more info

    4. #3
      Moooaaannn's Avatar
      Moooaaannn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Impossibly Large Noise Margin

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4256 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 2147483647 db 15 db

    5. #4
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Impossibly Large Noise Margin

      Quote Originally Posted by Moooaaannn View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4256 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 2147483647 db 15 db
      As I said, the Noise Margin 2147483647 db indicates that your snr margin has dropped below -1db you have noise problems on your line. This is why I asked you to provide details of how your phone socket and wires are set up.
      Any extensions you may have, and filters.
      Without this info I can not assist you.
      DO you have an NTE5 master BT socket?
      Does it have a split face so you can remove the lower portion to expose the test socket?
      If so plug into the test socket and take your stats again from this point. By doing this it will isolate any extensions from the circuit.
      Please do as suggested for further assistance.

    6. #5
      Moooaaannn's Avatar
      Moooaaannn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Impossibly Large Noise Margin

      ive had about a million problems in the past, so whenever something happens that isn't right, i unscrew the BT socket and go straight into the master socket. it's only that socket in the house. plus there's no other filters anywhere. the wires used are brand new and came with the router (only a month old)

    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Impossibly Large Noise Margin

      Quote Originally Posted by Moooaaannn View Post
      ive had about a million problems in the past, so whenever something happens that isn't right, i unscrew the BT socket and go straight into the master socket. it's only that socket in the house. plus there's no other filters anywhere. the wires used are brand new and came with the router (only a month old)
      Do you have sky TV? is it plugged into the phone?
      What wires are actually connected to the BT socket? There should only be two wires connected to the A and B terminals in the rear of the BT socket. Have a look and report back. Also your stats from the Test socket please

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Impossibly Large Noise Margin

      I'll chime in whilst I take a break from an unbelievably boring tort law assignment that is making me its bitch.

      Can you confirm the following before we can give any more advice:

      - You suggest you are in the test socket i.e. unscrewing the faceplate off the master socket and connecting directly into the test point; correct?
      - In the test socket, ensure the set-up is simply -- test socket > microfilter > adsl cable
      - I realise you said the adsl cable is new, but can you confirm it's the short light grey one sky supplied.
      - Have you tried a different microfilter?

    9. #8
      blush's Avatar
      blush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Kent UK
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Impossibly Large Noise Margin

      A victim of the Netgear V2, terrible routers. I have gone through three of these and all drop out show 0db on the noise margin at night. Switch to a DG834GT or Sky Sagem and line stable at 6mbps and 7db noise margin. The router IMHO is sub standard. Oh and my line attenuation is about the same as yours.

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Impossibly Large Noise Margin

      I've had a v2 netgear since about 2007 and it's never given me any bother with the SNR dropping (apart from the fact my line is a lightyear away from my exchange).

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION