Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Windows 7 & wireless

    This is a discussion on Windows 7 & wireless within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Bought a brand new netbook with windows 7 - cannot enable wireless. Called sky and they said not available yet ...

    1. #1
      FrancesMcMahon's Avatar
      FrancesMcMahon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Windows 7 & wireless

      Bought a brand new netbook with windows 7 - cannot enable wireless. Called sky and they said not available yet - anyone else heard this?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 & wireless

      Sky do not support Win 7 yet, but that should not stop you connecting. What error message are you receiving?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 & wireless

      my laptop worked fine on my DG934 Sky router with W7
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      nonono's Avatar
      nonono is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 & wireless

      hi
      sky tier 1 are now supporting win 7 wireless, just phone back and hope u get a agent who has read the brief.

    6. #5
      stuart tanner's Avatar
      stuart tanner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 & wireless

      i am running windows 7 ultimate on all 3 of my computers and have no issues with wireless or wired sky.
      i dont know if this helps


      stu

    7. #6
      Celest's Avatar
      Celest is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: BT Total Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 & wireless

      <*rant>
      Unless you have a PCI card or USB dongle supplied by Sky that they specificy a driver for then all you need is the good old fashioned Windows driver for your device.
      There is nothing inherent to the Sky router that makes it specify an operating system support level. This would contradict many anti-trust laws for starts, but the plain fact of the matter is it is an open framework 802.11a/b/g/n that we all connect to using WEP/ WPA/ etc and nothing proprietory to Sky.
      Let me know what your actual problem is and I'll help you through it mate. worst case MSN me and I'll connect to your desktop and help you troubleshoot.
      It ticks me off when you get useless IT support agents down the end of the phone line
      </rant>

      Phew!
      Andy

      _______________________________________________


      http://www.linkedin.com/in/mccreath
      Andrew McCreath

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION