Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    How to get wireless internet using Sky router and LAN

    This is a discussion on How to get wireless internet using Sky router and LAN within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have a LAN connection in my flat at uni. I was wondering if I could use Sky Netgear DG834GT ...

    1. #1
      Pratigya's Avatar
      Pratigya is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How to get wireless internet using Sky router and LAN

      I have a LAN connection in my flat at uni. I was wondering if I could use Sky Netgear DG834GT router(spare from home) to have a wireless internet around my flat. I stupidly thought it should be simple..plug in the LAN (ethernet) cable into the router..and it would work..apparently not...CAn anyone help please..


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: How to get wireless internet using Sky router and LAN

      Windows xp -

      start > run > ncpa.cpl (click ok) > right click 'wireless network connection' > you'll see your 'SSID' there as skyxxxxx which you click and then click connect > it shall ask for a network key - this is found on the sticker on the router and you need to enter in capital letters (there are no numbers in the key)

      Windows vista -

      start > connect to > you'll see your 'SSID' there as skyxxxxx which you click and then click connect > it shall ask for a network key - this is found on the sticker on the router and you need to enter in capital letters (there are no numbers in the key).

      Any problems, let us know.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How to get wireless internet using Sky router and LAN

      If connecting the router to the LAN is your problem, you may have to change its address to one in the LANs range. You may have to get your Network administrators permission.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: How to get wireless internet using Sky router and LAN

      Oh, my apologies - I think I've misread the original question in the first place.

    6. #5
      Pratigya's Avatar
      Pratigya is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to get wireless internet using Sky router and LAN

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Windows xp -

      start > run > ncpa.cpl (click ok) > right click 'wireless network connection' > you'll see your 'SSID' there as skyxxxxx which you click and then click connect > it shall ask for a network key - this is found on the sticker on the router and you need to enter in capital letters (there are no numbers in the key)

      Windows vista -

      start > connect to > you'll see your 'SSID' there as skyxxxxx which you click and then click connect > it shall ask for a network key - this is found on the sticker on the router and you need to enter in capital letters (there are no numbers in the key).

      Any problems, let us know.
      Thank you. That worked great!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION