Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Wireles Signal Boost Question !

    This is a discussion on Wireles Signal Boost Question ! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; First off HI ! Ive been lurking here for quite some time, and decided to finally sign up (and as ...

    1. #1
      ~TB~'s Avatar
      ~TB~ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northwich
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireles Signal Boost Question !

      First off HI !

      Ive been lurking here for quite some time, and decided to finally sign up (and as a question :P)

      I have been using the Black Netgear "Sky" router (not sure which model - but it doesnt have an external ariel or SMA connector)

      I have my Main PC, secondary PC and Laptop in my study all (when needed) hardwired to teh ethernet connectors and all is good.

      My wife recently decided to purchase a wireless Dell Laptop and mainly uses it in the lounge (c10-15m away through two walls / doors). The signal on my old Netgear (non Sky - given away to my Father in Law) was always great - but when I swapped to the Sky router the connection was pittiful. In short I plumped for a pair of Homeplugs and she could use her PC upstairs flawlessly. We now have the same issue with the Dell Lappy.

      I know we could just plug into the Homeplug in the lounge, but we / she really wants to use it wirelessly and not be resitricted where she sits / by a cable.

      So here is my Question - Is it possible to connect a "booster" or additional Wireless Access Point into the Homeplug in the Lounge to give a better signal?

      If so does anyone have any suggetsions and / or reccomendations as to a decent product (or indeed ones to avoid)?

      Many thanks in advance

      Cheers

      TB

      edit

      If it helps the router looks like this one



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Wireles Signal Boost Question !

      So here is my Question - Is it possible to connect a "booster" or additional Wireless Access Point into the Homeplug in the Lounge to give a better signal?


      Yes you can use a range extender. Take a look at some Cheap Laptops, Hard Drives, LCD Monitors, TVs, Televisions and more at Ebuyer.com

      Good luck.

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Wireles Signal Boost Question !

      You can actually buy a Homeplug with a wireless extender built in, that will make it a little easier for you to move around when required.

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireles Signal Boost Question !

      I agree the homeplug option is the easist way to extend the wireless range, so long as there is a wall power point in the area you want to use it.

    6. #5
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireles Signal Boost Question !

      Log on to the router page at http://192.168.0.1, user login = admin/sky, and change the wireless channel on the router. Start at the highest value (usually 13) and work backwards until you get a decent enough signal.

      Download and run Inssider - inSSIDer | MetaGeek will give you an indication of which channels are being used heavily in your location.

    7. #6
      ~TB~'s Avatar
      ~TB~ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northwich
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireles Signal Boost Question !

      Thanks for the replies

      I already have the homeplugs, or I would go for the built in wireless adapter

      I will give the channel change a try ,but I had issues getting the laptop connected on anything other than the default (6)

      After discussing this through with a mate of mine; he has suggested an alternative:

      Internet into the lounge via phone socket
      Into Wireless Router (now in the same room as the lappy)
      Outlet from the router back into the wall (via Homeplug)
      Homeplug out in the Study
      Homeplug into 5 port switch

      All I would need to buy is a switch at cú10

      Any thoughts on that solution ?

    8. #7
      NickS's Avatar
      NickS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      114
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wireles Signal Boost Question !

      That certainly sounds like the cheapest solution given what you've aready got and it should certainly work. I never had any distance issues with the white Sky Netgear router but it's started dropping the wireless transmission sporadically, sometimes after a few seconds, so what I did was buy a Belkin N+ cable router, disable the wireless on the Netgear and connect the Netgear to the Belkin. Works a treat, no signal drops and a huge increase in speed
      Last edited by NickS; 19-10-09 at 01:44 PM. Reason: typo

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireles Signal Boost Question !

      Internet into the lounge via phone socket
      If this is an extension socket you may find you loose a bit of speed. Take your router stats from there before making a decision.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      ~TB~'s Avatar
      ~TB~ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northwich
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireles Signal Boost Question !

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If this is an extension socket you may find you loose a bit of speed. Take your router stats from there before making a decision.
      No - I have a phone socket in the lounge - but ill test anyway, cheers

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireles Signal Boost Question !

      The socket will be an extension from your master, which I assume you are using at the moment. If it is not and the master is in your lounge, you may get a pleasant surprise, especially if it is an NTE5 with a Test socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION