Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    New Pc Problem with router

    This is a discussion on New Pc Problem with router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi. I have had sky broadband for a few years now, with my old pc working fine with it, along ...

    1. #1
      tranCendenZ's Avatar
      tranCendenZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Pc Problem with router

      Hi. I have had sky broadband for a few years now, with my old pc working fine with it, along with an Xbox 360 and a laptop.

      Recently I got a new pc and it doesn't seem to want to work with Sky broadband. The laptop and Xbox still work fine. The problem is thus:

      The PC sees the wireless router fine, 100%, it just works fine for a few seconds/minutes then decides to go slow/stops. A reconnection works but not every 30 seconds thanks!

      Sometimes a reconnection doesn't work and it says it can't connect. I changed to a new wireless card and it is NOT the pc.

      Please help, tried absolutely everything. Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tranCendenZ's Avatar
      tranCendenZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Pc Problem with router

      When connected for the short amount of time, the DL speed is amazing, up to 11mbits

      It seems to browse for longer, but if I start a download (speedtest) then it peters away to nothing)

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Pc Problem with router

      How does it work with an ethernet cable?

      You could try changing the channel the router is on, start at 13 and work down.

    5. #4
      tranCendenZ's Avatar
      tranCendenZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Pc Problem with router

      With ethernet cable, fine... more than 1000 kbs... might be the motherboard. But it is NOT the wireless card (tried 2, got new one)

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Pc Problem with router

      Have you tried changing the channel on the router yet?

    7. #6
      tranCendenZ's Avatar
      tranCendenZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Pc Problem with router

      I have, but it was working fine before I got this pc, AND the other pc's are fine

    8. #7
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: New Pc Problem with router

      I try giving the new computers WiFi Network Connection a fixed address (say 192.168.0.101 with submask 255.255.255.0 and gateway 192.168.0.1) which you set in the IP/TCP set up.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Pc Problem with router

      I changed to a new wireless card and it is NOT the pc.
      How can you say that and also say this-
      my old pc working fine with it, along with an Xbox 360 and a laptop.
      The only thing it can be is your PC. Try turning off the security in the router.ie, go to the Wireless settings page and under Security Option, tick the Disable button. See if your connection stays up. If it does you have entered the security key incorrectly.

      If you are still unable to connect properly, press the Windows key and type msconfig and hit Enter. Accept the UAC and on the General tab, click the 'Selective' Startup button and then untick 'Load startup items' click Apply. Reboot your PC and see if you can connect. If you can now connect it points at an item of your software stopping the connection, probably firewall or AV.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      tranCendenZ's Avatar
      tranCendenZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Pc Problem with router

      Right, been fiddling around and the update is as thus:

      Got a new wireless card to see if that was the problem, as is the case when money is spent, it is NOT the problem.

      Only seem to have these problems around the evenings to nights, been reading up and been told its a noise problem, so i've disabled uPnP to see what i can do.

      Again, it's ONLY this pc and not the laptop or 360

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Pc Problem with router

      It is not a noise issue if anything it is wireless interference from another device. You could invest in a couple of homeplugs with one being a wireless extender to boost the signal nearer where the new PC is or better yet just use it as an ethernet connection.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION