Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Can I link wirelessly if the pc runs windows 98?

This is a discussion on Can I link wirelessly if the pc runs windows 98? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, I'm very new to this and got my sky broadband on Monday, it all works fine and I ...

neilpb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Can I link wirelessly if the pc runs windows 98?

Hi all, I'm very new to this and got my sky broadband on Monday, it all works fine and I am quite impressed so far.
      Today I brought a USB Wireless Lan Plug in thingy and am having some problems connecting.

The Main PC is a 6 month old amd 64 with windows xp and the pc that I am trying to connect is a rather old jobbie running windows 98.

I have just spent some time on the phone with sky customer services trying to set up and they told me that sky BB is not compatiable with win98. I am a bit suspicious as I told the guy that 98 was involved at the start of the call and I feel that he is using this as a cop out because he can't sort out my problems.

I have managed to install the software on the win98 pc and it is detecting the sky signal, the strength is good but I can't get it to go on the web, When I open up IE, I get a message that says "detecting proxy settings" and after a minute or so I get the "Cannot find server" message.

When I was on the phone to Sky CS we generated a WEP key and that was about it.

Any help would be appreciated. Cheers, Neil.

2. Advertisement
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks
      Well, maybe an apology to SKY is due..........

Windows 98............. NO