Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

    This is a discussion on Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hiya, I upgraded to the unlimited package 2 weeks ago and since day 1 it's been stuck at 4Mbps, yet ...

    1. #1
      ldoodle's Avatar
      ldoodle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

      Hiya,

      I upgraded to the unlimited package 2 weeks ago and since day 1 it's been stuck at 4Mbps, yet when I was on the middle package I was getting pretty much smack bang on 8Mbps.

      Any reason?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

      You are at the start speed for DLM. Keep your router plugged in and powered up, when DLM training starts, your speed will rise.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      fruitbat's Avatar
      fruitbat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You are at the start speed for DLM. Keep your router plugged in and powered up, when DLM training starts, your speed will rise.
      I'm a Broadband Max customer, and since I joined Sky about 5 weeks ago my download speeds have been ridiculously slow, anywhere between 0.5Mb and 4Mb. With my previous ISP (up to 8Mb service) I had download speeds between 4Mb and 7Mb, so I know my phone line is capable of better speeds.

      This is very likely partly my own fault, because I didn't leave my router powered on during the DLM training period (I didn't read about that until a few weeks later).

      Is it possible to redo the DLM training, in the hope that I will get a more acceptable download speed?

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

      Quote Originally Posted by fruitbat View Post
      I'm a Broadband Max customer, and since I joined Sky about 5 weeks ago my download speeds have been ridiculously slow, anywhere between 0.5Mb and 4Mb. With my previous ISP (up to 8Mb service) I had download speeds between 4Mb and 7Mb, so I know my phone line is capable of better speeds.

      This is very likely partly my own fault, because I didn't leave my router powered on during the DLM training period (I didn't read about that until a few weeks later).

      Is it possible to redo the DLM training, in the hope that I will get a more acceptable download speed?
      Instead of running another training period, it's best (in most cases) just to get it manually configured by sky. Post your stats in another thread (so we don't hijack this one) from your test socket and we can see what speed you should be getting.

      Unless you were power cycling the router quite frequently during the training period, I couldn't imagine that's why you're capped. It may be that your physical set-up isn't optimal around the house for instance. In any case, as I say, stick your stats from the socket you're connected to at the moment and also from the test socket in another thread and you'll get some help.

    6. #5
      fruitbat's Avatar
      fruitbat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      .... stick your stats from the socket you're connected to at the moment and also from the test socket in another thread and you'll get some help.
      Thank you for your response. I don't wish to hijack this thread, but I don't understand what you mean:

      a] Which stats are required and where do I find them?
      b] What/where is a test socket?

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

      Quote Originally Posted by fruitbat View Post
      Thank you for your response. I don't wish to hijack this thread, but I don't understand what you mean:

      a] Which stats are required and where do I find them?
      b] What/where is a test socket?

      Could you start your own thread please as dealing with what may turn out to be a problem can get quite lengthy

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

      @ fruitbat
      Have a look at at these 2 tutorials, then post in the Broadband help section.
      Sky User - How to test your Master Socket

      How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      ldoodle's Avatar
      ldoodle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

      Stats from filtered faceplate attached...
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed-router.jpg  

    10. #9
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

      From those stats it looks like you have noise on your external line which is holding you back to the speed you get at the moment.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unlimited package, 4Mbps speed

      Stats from filtered faceplate attached...
      Can you remove the filtered faceplate and plug directly into the Test socket, using a filter of course? Take the stats from there and post them.

      How is your voice line, any noise when you are using the phone?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION