Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Will using a different router improve my connection

    This is a discussion on Will using a different router improve my connection within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; i currently have the netgear DG834GT sky router and was wondering if the sagem fast with have any positive effects ...

    1. #1
      ekam's Avatar
      ekam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: leamore
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Will using a different router improve my connection

      i currently have the netgear DG834GT sky router and was wondering if the sagem fast with have any positive effects on my broadband if i got one and if so how would i go about getting one?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: SKY Routers?

      No, they all do the same thing thereabouts, some prefer the Sagem and some the Netgear.

    4. #3
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Routers?

      The Netgear has superior wireless range and 108mbps where as the sagem while fine on wired side is shockingly bad on the wireless side offering only 54mbps transfer rate.

      Often you will read that the net gear router is often used "piggy back" with the Sagem for the better Wireless connection.

    5. #4
      ekam's Avatar
      ekam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: leamore
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Routers?

      i do need a better wirelesss signal is it worth it? how would i get one?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SKY Routers?

      The router you have at the moment is probably the best performer of all the Sky routers, wireless-wise. A Sagem would definitely be a step backwards. Have you tried changing the Channel you are using? This can make a great difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Routers?

      You could also look at Home plugs if cables are not practical. Do a search for NEtgear home plugs and read up, very good by all all accounts.
      You could look on fleabay for a sky sagem.

      To be honest with you, the net gear is a damn good router. Just that sky have knobbled the firmware so you only get very limited access to settings.
      There are ways around this which can be found on this forum if you search.

      I have a non sky DG834GT that runs DGTeam firmware But I use the Sagem as it seems to hold on to the SNR margin better than the net gear which is a surprise.
      I don't use wireless, my home network 4 pc are all wired.

    8. #7
      ekam's Avatar
      ekam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: leamore
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Routers?

      if i was to put the DGTeam firm ware on would sky know and would it have any positive effects to my connection?

    9. #8
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Routers?

      If you were to say just get rid of sky firm wear, for normal latest version of net gear
      you could risk bricking your router.

      You would first need to extract your Sky details from the router, again see guides on this forum on how to do this. But you ust be warned you would break skys T&C buy doing so. However, no one has had problems today I understand.

      Even just getting rid of sky firmware for standard net gear would allow you full u fettered access to the routers settings.
      Would it improve things? is subjective.
      once you got the netgear firmware installed you could then get th DGteam firmware and install.
      Again this gives access to far more settings and the ability to set your own SNR.
      Would it make things any better? , again subjective. It does allow you to run monitoring programs like Router stats full verision and DTM tools.

      Are you haveing any problems with your current router? and what are your current stats? take from test socket at rear of face plate if you can, and post here.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SKY Routers?

      It would help if you could say exactly what your problem is. If you have a poor line, there is little to be gained from flashing the router to standard, except the ability to set your own noise margin. There are actually tools available which allow you to do this without risking bricking the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      I am currently using a non sky router and it gave me another 2Mb on top of what i was getting before, It made the SNR increase which meant more speed, andwat these are my stats currently.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13371 kbps 1191 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 18.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.00 db 8.0 db

      I use an DG834Gv5 which i would recommend for getting the best out of the sky connection it worked for me and it should you.
      This method could get you to that 8Mb, it is just a suggestion the router was only 40 i got mine from currys, if there was no improvement you could just take it back.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION