Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky Broadband router model?

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband router model? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I am thinking of joining Sky BB and am currently with AOL. I was just wondering whether i would ...

    1. #1
      emvy03's Avatar
      emvy03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AOL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband router model?

      Hi,
      I am thinking of joining Sky BB and am currently with AOL. I was just wondering whether i would be able to keep the same router with the Sky service; or am i obliged to change to the router to the one Sky provide.
      Many thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband router model?

      The T&C's state that you should use the Sky supplied router although many people don't but cannot complain if any action is ever taken against them.

      You can just piggy back your existing router to the Sky one to use all it's features, this does not break the T&C's.

    4. #3
      emvy03's Avatar
      emvy03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AOL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband router model?

      Ok. Thanks. Is the supplied sky router a modem router or just a router? The one i have with AOL is the Netgear DG834 which has served me just fine.
      Thanks again.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband router model?

      it's a modem router, which is either a Netgear DG934 (a reboxed DG834Gv3) or a Sagem F@ST 2504 (which is apparently a version of the 2404)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband router model?

      Ok. Thanks. Is the supplied sky router a modem router or just a router?
      If it were just a router it would be no good for connecting to the internet.
      They supply a DG834GT, DG934G or a Sagem 2504, which are all modem/switch/routers.

      Too slow

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband router model?

      don't supply the DG834GT anymore...haven't for a long time...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband router model?

      I am fairly sure some recent joiners have got the DG834GT. It could be they are putting out refurbished ones.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION